Obit: Brenner, Walter E. (1893 - 1966)


Surnames: Brenner, Warden, Ford, Raether, Misdora, Rasmussen, Krupa, Couillard

----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 14 Jul 1966

Brenner, Walter E. (20 JUL 1893 - 3 JUL 1966)

Walter E. Brenner, Sr., 72, rt. 3, Stanley, died at St. Joseph's Hospital in Chippewa Falls at 9:25 a.m. Sunday, July 3rd.

Mr. Brenner was born July 20, 1893 in Tower, Minn., and moved to Thorp (Clark Co., Wis.) with his parents at the age of nine. He married Lillian Warden March 27, 1913 at the Presbyterian Church in Eidsvold, and they farmed in the Town of Thorp until 1960, when he retired.

Mr. Brenner served on the Thorp Town Board for 43 years, 23 years as chairman. He served on the Clark County Board for 23 years and was chairman of the Clark County Highway Commission. He was also a member of the Town of Thorp Fire Department.

Surviving are his wife Lillian; four sons, Walter J. of St. Paul, Bernard, Portage, Kenneth, Bloomington, Ind., Wilfred, Cadott; one daughter, Mrs. Raymond Couillard, Gilman; seven brothers, Floyd and Alfred, Gilman; Willis, Bloomer, George, Loyal, Ross, Milwaukee, Fred Las Vegas, Nev., and LeRoy of Thorp; five sisters, Mrs. Richard Ford, Harrisburg, Ind., Mrs. Herman Raether, Gilman; Mrs. Frank Misdora, Milwaukee, Mrs. Walter Rasmussen, Kelso, Wash., and Mrs. John Krupa, Cornell; 16 grandchildren and 19 great-grandchildren. Funeral services were held at the Stanley Presbyterian Church at 2 p.m., with Rev. E.O. Dirks officiating. Burial was in the Eidsvold Cemetery.

Pallbearers were Ervin Bieno, Loren Bivans, Steve Williams, Robert Rasmussen, Armond Christopherson, and Axel Anderson.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel