News: Longwood (11 Oct 1934)


Surnames: Thorson, Smith, Boylan, Capes, Elton, Poppe, Spry, Niemi, Jackson, Awe, Jucius, Swenson, Mathias, Haas, Aberg, Aaberg, Warner, Sorenson, Ivey

----Source: Greenwood Gleaner (Greenwood, Clark Co., Wis.) 11 Oct 1934

Alvin Thorson, who spent the past week with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Abe Thorson, left Thursday with Rupert Smith of Bright for Bethel Academy, where they will attend Colperteris Institute.

James Boylan is attending the Century of Progress and visiting his sister in Chicago.

Many ladies spent a pleasant afternoon at the shower given Mrs. Ivey Friday.

Mr. and Mrs. Jess Capes and daughters Marjorie and Lila, and Mr. and Mrs. O. Elton and daughter Helen, visited at Geo. Poppe's Saturday evening.

Mr. and Mrs. D.R. Spry visited friends and relatives at Ogdensburg and DePere over the weekend.

Confirmation services will be held at the Lutheran Church Sunday at 10:30 a.m.. Mildred Awe, Lee Jackson and Teddy Niemi will be confirmed.

Miss Lillian Jucius is visiting relatives in Chicago.

Mr. and Mrs. Art Swenson were Wednesday evening guests of Mr. and Mrs. Dale Spry.

Mr. and Mrs. Adolph Mathias of Richter's Lake spent Wednesday evening at Abe Thorson's.

Mr. and Mrs. Tom Haas and family were entertained at dinner at the Jess Capes home on Sunday.

There was a good attendance at the Lades Aid held at Mrs. Celia Jackson's Wednesday. The following officers were elected: President – Mrs. Gena Benson; Vice President – Mrs. Celia Jackson; Treasurer – Mrs. Carrie Aberg; Secretary – Mrs. Ella Elton; Relief committee – Mrs. N. Sorenson and Mrs. Martha Sorenson. At this meeting Mr. and Mrs. Don Warner's daughter, Ann Marie, was baptized by Rev. Aaberg.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel