Bio: Jackson, Adeline (Wins Writers Acclaim – Feb 1950)


Surnames: Jackson, Behrens

----Source: Greenwood Gleaner (Greenwood, Clark Co., Wis.) 02 Feb 1950

Mrs. Adolph Jackson, Longwood (Clark Co., Wis.), the former Adeline Behrens, daughter of Mrs. Agnes Behrens of this city, has won the acclaim of the Wisconsin Rural Writers Association for her poem, “The First Snow.”

The association was established for the purpose drawing together all the folks in the rural areas of the state who have written or would like to try writing a play, short story or a poem. Not that someone that lives in the city is ruled out, but the association is particularly interested in the literary interpretation of the country and farm life. The association looks for material that has something to say about the place in which her lives and the things with which he is familiar.

It has long been felt that the rural scene in America is being neglected in the literary field and hope that this organization will be able to seek out the talent existing in the state. Through the association it will be possible to gather the writings of our people and encourage them to tel about their particular section of the Midwest.

Mrs. Johnson’s Poem, “The First Snow”:

The first snow fell upon a tired earth
And gently folded her in white embrace.
The winds sang tender lullabies
And blew the teardrops from her care worn face.
The sun, moon and stars shone from above,
Bathing the earth in shining light of love.
Sleep well good earth and when again you wake,
When winter is not more and spring doth take
You in her arms and kiss you tenderly,
When flowers bloom and leaves return to trees,
When birds sing and brooklets run and swell
Then shall we know, you have rested well.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel