Bio: Steiner, Francis (FFA Honoree - 1973)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Steiner, Doering, Lucey, Thomson, Obey, Walter, Beilke, Garbisch, Menke, Meddaugh, Stanley

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 11/01/1973

Steiner, Francis (FFA Honoree - 1973)

Francis Steiner has his evening last week at the annual Granton FFA Banquet.

Steiner, a teacher and community booster for Granton, was honored at the banquet by speeches, gifts, and communications from afar including a resolution commending him from the Wisconsin State Assembly and Senate.

Guest speaker was Floyd Doering, state supervisor of agriculture, who stated that Steiner’s “motivation benefited young people” throughout the community and state.

Letters were also read from Governor Patrick Lucey; Barbara Thompson, state superintendent of public instruction; David Obey, seventh district congressman, and several local business leaders.

Steiner is in his twenty-fifth year as vocational agriculture instructor at the Granton School.

With an attendance of over 250 residents, the banquet and ceremonies were conducted by officers of the Granton FFA chapter, including Steve Walter, president; Rick Beilke, vice president; Bob Garbisch, secretary; Louie Menke, treasurer; Larry Meddaugh, reporter; and Bruce Stanley, sentinel.

Honorary memberships were also bestowed during the festivities with certificates going to Henry Winkler, custodian at the Granton School, Bletsoe’s Dairy of Granton and Christie, and Grassland Feeder Pig Co-op, Neillsville.

Steiner, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Platteville, also operates a drug and gift store in Granton and is active in the Granton Fall Festival, a community promotion.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel