School: Owen H.S. Class of 1931 (35th Reunion – 1966)


Surnames: Hoeper, Baker, Clark, Jakel, Barret, Whitbeck, McVey, Dennis, Bower, Niemi, Pietila, Wendt, Shell, Bacon, Baker, Laakso, Andersen, Harneyager, Peissig, Richardson, Sutter, Bundesen, Moore, Christensen, Potocnik, Erickson, Hull, Lund, Kohls, Medicke, Kowalewski, Malinowski, Olson, Lew, Rusch, Harms, Schwenke, Rittenhouse, Shereda, Tormey, Montgomery, Wilson, Fricke, Griffith, Youmans

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 18 Aug 1966

Twenty of the 42 members of the class graduated from Owen High School in 1931 returned here Saturday for their first reunion in 35 years.

They renewed old acquaintances and made new ones, as husbands met wives and wives met husbands of former classmates when they gathered at the new high school building at 4 o'clock for a coffee "get together," followed by a tour of the school buildings. At 6:30 they enjoyed a social hour at the Meadowview Country Club, followed by a dinner.

Presiding as "Master" and "Grace" of ceremonies were Claude Hoeper of Oak Lawn, Ill., and Mrs. Roy (Christine Baker) Clark, Owen.

A hush was put on the gay festivities when Claude Hoeper offered a prayer at the banquet for the son of Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Jakel of New Berlin, who were unable to attend because of the son's death in a recent drowning accident.

During the program it was learned that Mrs. Ted (Ivis Barrett) Whitbeck had come the longest distance to attend the reunion, being a resident of Fairbanks, Alaska; Mrs. Wm. (Anita McVey) Dennis had the most children, four; Mrs. Wm. (Edythe Bower) Niemi, the most grandchildren; and Mrs. Arvid (Bernice Wendt) Shell, the youngest child.

Members attending the program were Royal Bacon, Monroe; Mrs. Roy (Christine Baker) Clark, Owen; Mrs. Wm. (Edythe Bower) Niemi, Owen; Mrs. Julian (Ione Harneyager) Andersen, Villa Park, Ill.; Arnie Laakso, Owen; Mrs. Ray (Eunice Nelson) Pietila, Naperville, Ill.; Annie Niemi, Stetsonville; Emery Peissig, Curtiss; Mrs. Eugene (Virginia Richardson) Sutter, Owen; Mrs. Ted (Ivis Barrett) Whitbeck, Fairbanks, Alaska; Mrs. Ed (Anne Bundesen) Moore, Milwaukee; Mrs. John (Margete Christensen) Potocnik, Withee; Emery Erickson, Owen; Claude Hoper, Oak Lawn, Ill.; Mrs. Alta (Hull) Lund, Eau Claire; Mrs. Warren (Josephine Kohls) Medicke, Neillsville; Mrs. Malen (Josephine Kowalewski) Malinowski, Thorp; Mrs. Wm. (Anita McVey) Dennis, Platteville; David McVey, Withee; Mrs. Chet (Elda Olson) Lew, Abbotsford; Mrs. Gordon (Evelyn Rusch) Harms, Black River Falls; Mrs. Duane (Pearl Schwenke) Rittenhouse, Owen; Mrs. Frank (Robette Shereda) Tormey, Withee; Mrs. Lyle (Myrabelle Sutter) Montgomery, Galesville; Mrs. Arvid (Bernice Wendt) Shell, Wausau; Elmer Youmans, Minneapolis, Minn.; Mrs. Paul (Evelyn Wilson) Fricke, and Mrs. Edward (Marian Griffith) Wendt, Owen.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel