News: Colby (Hwy 29 Right-of-Way Auction - 1960)

Contact: Robert Lipprandt 

Surnames: Gustafson, Volovsek

----Source: The Tribune - Phonograph (Abbotsford, WI) 10/28/2015

Originally published in the Colby Phonograph, Thursday, October 27, 1960.

All the buildings that have been purchased for the right-of-way for the new Highway 29, between Abbotsford and Owen will be sold at public auction November 3, and 4.

The auction will begin with building on the former Abner Gustafson property just east of the Clark County home, and will proceed east, parcel by parcel.

The sale the second day will begin at the former Frank Volovsek tavern at Curtiss Corners at the junction of Highway 29 and County Trunk “E.” The building will be open for inspection Wednesday, November 2, and until sale time Thursday and Friday.

The Volovsek tavern at Curtiss corners will serve as the office for conducting the inspections.

The building must be move from the premises by December 1. Purchasers are cautioned that they must have a permit from the state highway commission to move building over state highways, and the sale of a building does not necessarily bind the commission into granting a permit.

The buildings are being sold to make room for a new roadway for Highway 29. Work has already started on a portion between Abbotsford and Owen.

Plans are to build a new two-lane highway running form just west of Abbotsford and south of the present Highway 29. It will bypass Owen and Withee to the south and will continue to past Thorp, Stanley and Cadott.

The State has purchased enough right-of-way to build a four-lane divided highway. In the future, if traffic merits, another two lanes will be added.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel