BioM: Buss, Diane Mary (1974)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Buss, Smith, Olson, Christophersen, Herman, Ogurek, Edgar, Ruggles, Kolpanen, Jensen, Schmitt, Rowe, Strohkirch, Raatz, Sullivan

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 7/11/1974

Buss, Diane Mary (Marriage – 6 July 1974)

Miss Diane Mary Buss became the bride of Gary Andrew Smith in ceremonies performed Saturday, July 6, at 2 p.m. in Nazareth Lutheran Church, Withee. The Rev. Robert Sullivan officiated for the daugher of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Buss, Owen, and the son of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Smith, Jr., Rt. 1 Owen. A reception was held afterwards at the Meadowview Country Club.

For her marriage, the former Miss Buss chose a white empire style gown with a flowing train and lace and pearl embroidery at the waistline, collar and cuffs. Her short veil was caught by a crown headpiece of lace and pearls. She carried an arrangement of yellow roses and white carnations as she was presented in marriage by her father.

Mrs. John Olson, Greenwood, was the matron of honor. Bridesmaids were Miss Lynn Christophersen, Owen, Miss Robin Herman and Miss Judy Ogurek, Thorp, and Miss Cindy Edgar, Owen. Their blue-checked daisy print gowns were framed by organza shawls. Each carried a single, long-stemmed yellow rose.

Robert Ruggles, Jr., Owen, served as best man. Groomsmen were Jerome Kolpanen and Allan Jensen, Withee, John Olson, Greenwood, and Jerome Schmitt, Owen. Guests were seated by Ed Rowe, Owen and Scott Strohkirch, Owen.

Mike Smith, Owen, was the ringbearer and Shelly Raatz, Unity, the flower girl.

Rhonda Buss was the organist.

The newlyweds are both graduates of Owen-Withee High School. Following their return from a wedding trip to Northern Wisconsin, they will live in Owen where the groom is employed.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel