News: Sherwood – Township Centennial (1974)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Hirsch, Fluegel, Coulthard, Scott, Fredrickson, Schade, Scholtz, Jacobson, Schwanebeck, Minor, Ziemendorf, Freedlund, Blakely, Sparks, Matonich, Anderson, Lawson, Wetzel, Rosandich, Welhorn, Zdun, Hiles, Kane, Paun, Gliniechi, Voeglie, Fields, Moeller, Florence

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 8/15/1974

Town of Sherwood (Centennial – 3-4 August 1974)

The Town of Sherwood in Clark County celebrated its centennial with a dance and fellowship at the Town Hall Saturday evening, August 3, and a potluck family picnic Sunday noon, August 4, at the Sherwood Park.

A good display of old pictures turned out to be a big attraction at the gathering Saturday, where Ed Hirsch of Marshfield played for an old-time dance. Lunch served by Sherwood residents was supplemented by donations of cake and cheese.

The Centennial Cake was decorated by Betty and Sandra Fluegel, and Eleanor and Patricia Coulthard. Made in the shape of the Town of Sherwood, it also showed roads, rivers, and lakes, plus flags with residents’ names, showing where everyone lived.

Refreshments and ice cream served at the picnic Sunday were also donated. A short program was presented, with the pledge of allegiance led by Jess W. Scott of Neillsville, who spoke later on the history of Sherwood. Everyone joined in the singing of “The Star-Spangled Banner” led by Bryon Fredrickson.

Recognition and certificates were given to Alfred Schade, oldest resident (95), and to Ralph Scholtz and Harry Jacobson, two oldest residents, born, raised, and still residing in Sherwood (both were born in 1890). Charles Schwanebeck and Max Schwanebeck were also honored. Anna Schwanebeck and Elsie Fluegel were honored as the community’s oldest ladies. The youngest resident was Eric Minor, son of Mr. and Mrs. Nick Minor.

The Ziemendorf family was recognized as the family having been in business in Sherwood for the longest time. A combined store and bar was operated for 52 years by Ed, Art, Dewey, and Lloyd Ziemendorf.

Town chairman Norman Freedlund was presented with a certificate honoring him as town chairman at the time of the Centennial: He spoke briefly on the progress of the town.

A moment of silence was observed for deceased veterans, after which a round of applause was given for Veterans and Senior Citizens present; and for those coming the longest distance, who were: Mr. and Mrs. Ed Blakely of Florida, Mrs. Frank Sparks of Montana, Lloyd Sparks of Washington, Mr. and Mrs. Dale Freedlund of Oklahoma, and Mr. and Mrs. Larry Freedlund of Colorado.

Also honored was Philip Freedlund, for being a college graduate, who returned to the farm.

The oldest persons attending from away were: Joe Matonich, 88, or Spencer, and Mrs. Regina Anderson, 84, of Milwaukee. Another “old timer” present was Ralph Lawson of Neillsville.

There were two four generation families in attendance. One family included: Max Schwanebeck, Glen Schwanebeck, Sharon Schwanebeck Wetzel (Mrs. Ray) and the Wetzel children. Included in the second family were: Paul Schwanebeck, Lester Schwanebeck, Ray Schwanebeck and daughter Christina.

Also present were the 13 children of Steve Rosandich, a former Sherwood resident.

Donated prizes were won by the following Chester Freedlund and Ralph Scholtz, Sherwood; Amanda Welhorn, Nekoosa; Emil Zdun, George Hiles, and Jack Kane, Pittsville; Lloyd Sparks, Seattle, Wa., Ellen Paun, Granton; Rueben Gliniechi, Stratford; Alice Rosandich, Oconomowoc; and Francis Voeglie, Cambria.

History of Sherwood books were prepared by Alfred Fields, Sherwood, using a school paper written by two of the community’s young people, Kay Moeller and Mark Florence, in addition to other articles.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel