News: Abbotsford – Kramer’s County Mkt (Grocer of the Year – 2011)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Kramer

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 7/07/2011

Abbotsford – Kramer’s County Market (Grocer of the Year – 2011)

Dennis Kramer, Kramer’s County Market, 2011 Grocer of the Year

Dennis Kramer, owner of Kramer’s County Market in Abbotsford, was recently selected as Grocer of the Year, the Wisconsin Grocers Association’s (WGA) highest honor.

Kramer learned all about the grocery business from his father, who opened the first IGA in Abbotsford. In the early 1970s, Kramer took over the family business and doubled the size of the sore, known as Kramer’s Family Center. He continued to provide the one-stop shopping in Abbotsford, complete with an increased selection of health and prepared foods. Despite a devasting fire in 1982 that left the store in ruins, Kramer was committed, (a portion missing from copy) There are many projects, honors and awards that have Kramer’s name on them, including chairman of the Abbotsford Centennial Committee, Chamber president, as well as, serving on the board of directors for the WGA. Kramer was also recognized with the WGA’s Excellence in Operations Award and the IGA Retailer (another piece missing) had opportunity to work at the store and still participate in school athletics and activities.

The WGA is the Wisconsin food industry’s trade association with more than 1,000 members, and the Grocer of the Year Award is the most prestigious award. Presented annually, the award is given to a WGA member who makes significant contributions to the industry and community. Kramer will receive his award Oct. 19 at the WGA Innovation Expo at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel