News: Spencer History – American Legion Auxiliary


Source: Spencer Centennial Book (1874 – 1974)

The charter for the American Legion Auxiliary, Lee F. Pickett Post No. 298 of Spencer, Wisconsin was issued December 22, 1923. Two meetings were held each month. The first Wednesday was designated for the Auxiliary exclusively, and the second meeting on the fourth Wednesday being held jointly with the Legion. A sunshine fund was started, with each member giving one penny per meeting.

The activities included: An Armistice Day program which was held in 1925 at the Spencer Public School through the efforts of the Auxiliary. In 1928 a flag pole was erected in the Soo Line Park, the expense being equally shared by the Legion and the Auxiliary. In 1932 the Auxiliary participated in the observance of Memorial Day and placed Memorial wreaths on the graves of all soldiers killed in action and deceased veterans. In 1936 a float was constructed and entered in the Homecoming parade. In March of 1941 the Auxiliary began to sponsor a Public Library created by a W.P.A. project, and in 1943 began to sponsor the Girl Scout organization. In 1950 a "Scotch-lite-a-bike" Safety Program was started and in 1959 the Auxiliary and the Woman's Club began to co-sponsor a girl for Badger Girl's State.

Regular meetings are now held the second Tuesday of each month. The offering for the sunshine fund has been raised to a quarter. Poppies are still sold each May, the money going to veterans' hospitals and to help veterans here. Once a month tray favors are sent to veterans in hospitals. With the help of the United Fund, the Auxiliary still sponsors a girl to Badger Girl's State.

Following are the Charter Members, First Officers and Present Officers:

Charter Members

Mayme Christianson Emma Ayres
Ina Cramer, Theresa Brown
Ellen Parrette Agnes Pickett
Marian VanDerhoof Anna Zettle
Faith McVean Susan Groh
Mary Hanson Louise Parrette
Helen Pickett Esther Callahan
Evelyn Orgish Carrie Damon
Eliza Freeman Leah Graves
Ethel Johnson Maud Johnston
Mildred Krause Devina Lambert
Eva Mcllhattan Blanche Metzgar
Sue Nelson Bertha Orgish

First Officers

Marian VanDerhoof President
Ina Cramer Vice President
Evelyn Orgish Treasurer
Leah Graves Chaplain
Hazel VanDerHoof Secretary
Elsie Carlson Sergeant-Arms
Mary Hansen Historian

Present Officers

Mrs. Wilbur Hoops President
Mrs. Dick Meinders First Vice President
Mrs. Wm. Jensen Second Vice President
Mrs. Russell Gehrke Treasurer
Mrs. A. E. Messer Chaplain
Mrs. Rueben Pribbernow Secretary
Mrs. Ed Huber Sergeant-Arms



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel