News: Spencer History – Royal Neighbors of America


Source: Spencer Centennial Book (1874 – 1974)

Golden Rule Camp No. 4366 was chartered on September 14, 1905, with the following list of Charter Members: Neighbors, Myrtle Colby, Andrew and Carrie Damon, Mae Driscoll, Lillian Farrington, Edith, Leah and Spencer Graves, Harriet and May Hayward, Lena Holmes, Cora Hubbard, Maude Lake, Emma McVean, Carrie Reas, Minnie Sayles, F. D. Strayer, M.D., Maude Upson, Barbara Vanderhoof and Mabel Welch. The first officers were Effie Ringer, who had transferred immediately from the camp at Chelsea, Wis. to the new camp in Spencer, and became the first Oracle; Leah Graves, Vice Oracle; Maude Upson, Past Oracle; Mae Driscoll, Recorder; May Hayward, Receiver; Carrie Damon, Chancellor; Maude Lake, Marshal; Edith Graves and Carrie Reas, inner and out sentinel, respectively; Emma McVean and Lena Holmes, managers, and Dr. F. G. Strayer, Physician. Carrie Damon served as chancellor for more than 25 years and Mae Driscoll served as recorder until January 1, 1955.

The R. N. A. is a benefit society dedicated to the protection of the American family, with a principal of true fraternalism exemplified by lodge activities and aid to members in need. Golden Rule Camp diligently carried out the aims and purposes of the society. They were active in the social life of the village, putting on home talent plays, hard time parties, etc. to raise funds for their charitable endeavors. In the days when there was neither welfare nor Mother's pensions, they extended a great deal of aid to the needy whether or not that need was within their own membership.

On July 20, 1966 Golden Rule Camp No. 4366 consolidated with Midget City Camp No. 2666 at Colby, Wisconsin.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel