History: 1923 Marshfield, Wisconsin

Poster: History Buffs

----Source: History of Wood County, Wisconsin compiled by George O. Jones, Norman S. McVean and others : illustrated. H. C. Cooper, Jr. & Co., 1923.

----1923 History of Marshfield, Wood Co., Wisconsin



The city of Marshfield, having a population in 1920 of 7,394, is situated in the northwestern part of Wood County, near the boundary line of Marathon. It is the trade center of a vast sweep of rich agricultural territory, and is a noted cheese shipping point. Here several railroads form a junction, namely: the Eland Junction to Merrillan and the Fond du Lac to Marshfield branches of the Chicago & Northwestern, and the Chicago, St. Paul & Minneapolis division (or main line) of the Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie (or "Soo") railway system, together with the Greenwood and Nekoosa branches of the same road.

These railroads give the city substantial commercial advantages, evidenced by the steadily increasing number of wholesale' houses seeking Marshfield as a distributing point for central and northern Wisconsin. Within the city limits are many excellent industrial sites with abundant side-track facilities, besides a number of important manufacturing industries, some of which were established many years ago and have justified the most optimistic expectations of their founders. Among other satisfactory developments are the public utility plants and city departments, the commercial houses, theatres, banks, schools, churches, societies and philanthropic institutions, all of which except some of the stores, and perhaps one or two of the smaller or more private societies, will be individually mentioned in the course of this history. In addition to the railroads mentioned, a daily stage is run to Rozellville in Marathon County. Marshfield has never experienced a "boom," but has had a gradual and steady growth. It was named for John J. Marshfield, of Haverhill, Mass., one of the original proprietors of the town site, which, in the forties was embraced in a grant of land to the territory of Wisconsin by the United States Government for the purpose of improving the Fox and Wisconsin rivers. It was the purpose of the government to make possible steamboat navigation between Green Bay and the Mississippi. Soon after the grant was awarded a company known as the Fox & Wisconsin Improvement Co. was organized, the moving spirits in the undertaking being Horatio Seymour, Erastus Corning, John Magee, Samuel Marsh, William Butler (all of New York), and B. J. Stevens.  

These men entered into a contract with the state to complete the waterways within the purpose of the grant upon condition that lands amounting to 700,000 acres be awarded them and be exempt from taxes for ten years. It was stipulated that improvements be completed within ten years, or by 1866. About the time that the life of the contract ceased a new company was formed, known as the Green Bay & Mississippi Improvement Co., and the land was transferred to the new organization and subsequently divided among the incorporators. In the transfer this immediate locality became the property of John Magee and Samuel Marsh. The land was well timbered and fertile and offered inducements for location.  

In 1868 two brothers, Louis and Frank Rivers, the former married and the latter single, settled here, having come from Necedah, Juneau County, this state. They purchased from Marsh a tract of land which included the north half of the northwest quarter of Section 5, Town 25, Range 3, on which in April, 1871, they built a log house which was used as a dwelling, store and tavern, and a little later as a post office also. Its location was on Chestnut Street, corner of North Depot Street, about where the present "Soo" line water tank now stands, and projected somewhat into the street.  

In June, 1871, Peter McGuigan arrived and opened a small store and saloon. A number of other settlers came the same year. The Wisconsin Central Railroad (now included in the "Soo" system) was then in course of construction through this region, which did much to stimulate settlement, the first train coming through July 4, 1872. The railroad company bought land along their right of way, and in Marshfield owned every other lot. Later the Fox River Company bought the railroad out, and the lots were put on sale for $25 each, but only a few were sold. A. L. Smith of Appleton, a well known figure in those days, was agent for the owners of the town site and made all sales of land; and J. P. Buck, also from Appleton, acted as field man, estimator of timber, and in similar capacities.  

With the advent of the railroad there came more' settlers, among them Jerry 'Couture, G. Hodgdon and Peter Bell, each of whom built a house and started in business. The Hodgdon place was located on the site of the present Marshfield Grocery Store. In the same year (1872) Samuel Marsh died and his property fell to his heirs, among whom was J. J. Marsh, his nephew.

The Rivers brothers and David Vaughan in the meanwhile had started the lumbering industry here. The work was hard for a time, as there was no saw mill in the town, and the logs had to be hauled to the railroad and shipped to Stevens Point and De Pere. David Vaughan logged just east of the Rivers brothers, in the north half of the northeast quarter of Section 5. The lumber ran one and three-quarter logs per 1,000 feet and sold for $7 per 1,000.

The embryo village was located in the midst of a tract of hardwood timber and had to be approached through the woods. A road had been cut to Manville, three and a half miles northwest of Marshfield, where there was a shingle mill and a saw mill; also a hotel built by a man named Chandler. In 1876, when E. E. Winch arrived, no streets had been laid out except North Depot Street, which had been cut out for one block. The cut timber was lying all around.

In 1872 the post office was established and Louis Rivers was appointed postmaster, in which capacity he acted until June, 1877, when he was succeeded by E. S. Renne, proprietor of the first drug store here.

There is a difference of opinion among several of the surviving pioneers of Marshfield as to when the first school was started and who was the first teacher. The "History of Northern Wisconsin," published in 1881, says that a school was started in the summer of 1873 with Miss Clara Davis as teacher, and Miss Fanny Baker has also been mentioned as one of the earliest teachers, probably the second; while another authority says that Miss Ella Kelly (a sister of the first Mrs. W. H. Upham) was the first. There is no question, however, but that all three of these ladies taught school in the village at a very early date, though for several years there was no regular school building and the sessions were held at any convenient place. The firm of Stillman, Brunson & Pettingill, who in the. early seventies built a stave and spoke factory here, also put up a little building for a store and office, and for some time let the village use the front room for a school, which was taught by Ella Kelly. The same room was also used occasionally for entertainments. Miss Kelly later kept school on the site of the present residence of Dr. J. C. Hayward. The next school was on the site of Dr. Budge's house and in fact the doctor's house is the same building with some additions and improvements. The Stillman, Brunson & Pettingill stave and spoke factory, previously mentioned, was the first manufacturing industry in the village. It was located where Miller's cold storage warehouse now is. The concern bought white oak timber, from which they made their staves, and they also found the best spoke timber in this locality. Later, embarrassed for want of means, they sold out to Webster & Lawson, who sent E. E. Winch to Marshfield to look after their timber interests here. Within three or four years he was shipping from 4,000,000 to 5,000,000 feet of logs, and some lumber, yearly from this point to Menasha, where the firm had a sawmill and spoke factory.

In 1874 Jerry Couture built the first frame house in the village, on South Depot Street, and his example seems to have been largely followed, as in 1875 Marshfield could boast of 22 frame buildings.

While J. P. Buck, previously mentioned as an agent for the Fox & Wisconsin Improvement Company, was engaged in locating lands, he met J. J. Marsh at Neillsville, and together they concerted plans for the development of Marshfield. Accordingly, the plat was surveyed in December, 1874, and April, 1875, by N. M Edwards, the record in the register of deed's office showing that the site was owned by six persons, namely: John J. Marsh, unmarried, New York; Adeline M. Merriam, widow, of Topsfield, Mass.; Mary M. Kelly, of Haverhill, Mass., wife of George W. Kelly; George W. Kelly, her husband; Elizabeth C. Marsh, unmarried, and Mary F. Ames, of Haverhill, Mass. The directions to survey dedicate to the public "the streets as highways, Block No. O for public parks, and Lots 13, 14 and 15 of Block L, and Lots 1, 2 and 3 of Block A for sites of public school buildings." The plat was described as the northwest quarter of Section 8, Town 25 north, Range 3 east, and was recorded Sept. 9, 1875.

For some years Marshfield was a very unattractive looking place. The houses were small and of cheap construction, and the surrounding country, where the timber had been cut, was covered with stumps, presenting a rather desolate appearance. But the work of improvement was slowly going on, and the establishment of the Upham saw mill in 1879 marked the beginning of a more rapid progress. The community was rough, and as it, like all frontier towns at that time, was well supplied with saloons, which were patronized liberally by a large percentage of the male inhabitants, drunken brawls were not infrequent, though the statement contained in a former historical sketch of the city, (written by high school students in 1914), that before 1880 seven murders had been committeed here, is disputed by several of the pioneer settlers of the town now living. L. Wollesen says that the only killing in early days that he can remember was that of a drunken Indian who had threatened a white man. The Indians owned some land near Marshfield, a part of which they had cleared. A party of German settlers persuaded them to sell some of the cleared land to them and paid them cash for it, whereupon the Indians came to town and proceeded to get drunk. One big Indian, who was already intoxicated entered a saloon to get more liquor. The proprietor was out, but a man named John Baer was sitting in the saloon and the Indian approached him and demanded liquor. Baer told him that he could not sell him any, and the Indian became angry and abusive. Baer then put him out of the saloon, but the Indian, drawing a knife, ran back to force his way in again, when Baer struckhim with a billiard cue, killing him.  

The first physician in town was Dr. W. T. Saw, who died in 1880. Frank Kirkland was the first lawyer to settle here and A. E. Deming the second. The establishment of law offices, going hand in hand with the stricter enforcement of the laws, had a quieting effect upon the rougher inhabitant and Marshfield became a fairly tranquil and orderly community. The good effect of this was seen in the promotion of various public interests. A statement formerly made (in the school history previously alluded to) that in the summer of 1877 there was only one child of school age in the village (Louis Rivers' daughter being probably referred to) and that she "did not go to school because there was none," seems rather improbable, for, as already noted, school had been taught as early as 1873, and since the population had undoubtedly increased in the meanwhile, some provision must have been made for education. But however that may be, a summer school of two months was held in 1877 in an old frame house on South Depot Street, with Madge Mahoney as teacher. It was soon after that a schoolhouse was built, previously mentioned as having stood on the site of the present Dr. Hayward residence. The first Sunday School met in this schoolhouse in November, 1878, and on November 27 the same year, the Rev. Jacob Patch, familiarly known as "Father Patch," organized the First Presbyterian Church. After its founding many socials, waxworks, and other entertainments were held. Father Patch, who was from Stevens Point, was a man of strong individuality, a hard worker, and in his way quite a "character." W. G. Hinman remembers him on one occasion getting into his buggy and trying to drive away without untying his horse. His favorite expression, uttered in slow, measured tones, was: "Apples of gold in pictures of silver." (See Prov. 25:11).

In those days total prohibition of the liquor traffic had not been thought of, save perhaps by a few of the most imaginative enthusiasts, but temperance societies,the members of which pledged themselves to personal abstinence, were not uncommon throughout the country, and one was organized in Marshfield in the winter of 1878. It began holding meetings in the schoolhouse, but was soon forbidden the use of that building by the school board, the three members of which it was the first school board in the village-were all saloon-keepers. The society maintained its organization, however, and helped to lay the foundation of two or more protestant churches.

Previous to 1878 Catholic meetings had been held in the Rivers House; later they were held in the schoolhouse until the building of the Catholic Church in 1880. The Methodist Church was built in 1883. But the individual history of the churches in Marshfield may be found elsewhere in this chapter, except that of the Catholic, which is contained in the separate chapter on The Catholic Church in Wood County, by Rev. William Reding.  

In 1880 Louis Rivers built a two-story frame hotel on the west side of Central Avenue and on the north side of North Depot Street, and which burned down on Jan. 23, 1883, catching fire from a defective chimney. While it was in existence its second story was used as a hall for social gatherings, including dances, the music being furnished by the Campbell Settlement (now Rozellville )Band.  

About 1880, or 1881, E. S. Renne, Marshfield's first druggist and second postmaster, built a hotel where the Blodgett Hotel is now located. He later sold it to John Gill, and it was burned in 1887, while he was the proprietor. Mr. Gill rebuilt it and later sold out to Foster Bros.  

A serious accident occurred on May 20, 1880. About 9:15 in the morning there was a tremendous boom, then a trembling of buildings. Crowds rushed into the streets and with pale faces made their way toward the stave factory. It was found that the boiler had blown up, the cause for which was unknown. J. Renne, a fireman, was blown across the engine-room through the window. He was fatally scalded and died at midnight. Three other men were badly hurt. For some length of time until repairs could be made 60 men were out of work.  

Within 15 years of the settlement here of the Rivers brothers and eight years from the laying out of the plat, the village had grown so in size, population and material wealth that its citizens felt the time had come for it to assume municipal rights and privileges. The necessary steps were accordingly taken, and by Chapter 280 of the Laws of 1883 the legislature of Wisconsin organized and created the city of Marshfield, comprising the present territory with what now constitutes the town of Cameron added. The first city election was held the third Thursday in April, L. A. Arnold being elected mayor, J. R. Reily clerk, A. Thomas treasurer, and C. A. Coon police justice. The first meeting of the common council was held at John Girk's residence in the Third Ward. The members were: Mayor Arnold, president; aldermen Ingalls, W. H. Upham, Fornance, Bein, Couture, Cliver, Steinmetz, Girk and Strong.  

On Nov. 18, 1903, Cameron was detached and established as a separate township, leaving Marshfield with its present boundaries (see Marshfield in chapter on County and Town Organization).  

To give an idea of the business life of the place at this time, the following list is presented as containing mention of the principal business places established here before the close of the year 1882. Dorschel & Co., dealers in dry goods and groceries; came in 1880 and their business was managed by Fred Vollmar. Shaurer & Law were conducting a general store and tailor's shop, having come to the village in its infancy. Jos. Rumenoff, a dealer in hardware, located corner of Second Street and Central Avenue, where E. M. Deming's brick building is now had come in 1877, and P. Held, who was in the same business, in 1880. John Gill was conducting the hotel he had bought from E. S. Renne; the Central Hotel was conducted by H. J. Pankow, the Travelers House by Mike Steinmetz, and the Eagle Hotel by John Luis. There were 15 saloons, two meat markets, two furniture stores and a drug store with a line of books kept by Dr. F. L. Hinman (from Rhinelander) and A. E. Miner. The building occupied by this drug store was owned by W. G. Hinman and T. E. Vannedon and is the present location of the Laemle clothing store and Sexton's drug store.  

To supplement the above it may be said that W. A. Sexton and his brother bought out Miner, who had previously (about 1881) bought Renne's drug store and had moved it into the building just south of the present Blodgett Hotel. When the Hinman block was built, in the fall of 1882, Miner moved into that, paying $16 1-3 per month rent to Hinman & Vannedon. Dr. F. L. Hinman then went into partnership with him. Sexton was first located where the Winterburn drug store is now.  

W. G. Hinman and W. H. Upham conducted a furniture store located on the site of the present Adler block. What is now the First National Bank was then known as the Marshfield Bank, or sometimes colloquially as "Arnold's" Bank, and was conducted by L. A. and C. B. Arnold, their father, G. M. Arnold, also having an interest in the concern. The Marshfield Times was then conducted by C. A. Coon, who in the same year (1883) bought out the Gazette. Within the three previous years, from 1880 to 1883, two German papers had been started, it is said-the Herald and the Wochenblatt-but had failed, and it was not until the following year, 1884, that H. J. Pankow established a successful German paper, the Demokrat, which is the present Wochenblatt.  

The advertisements in the Times in 1883 show that there were quite a number of other business and professional men, besides several women, established in Marshfield at this time, and as these advertisers were probably the most energetic and successful representatives of their class, their names and respective lines of business, in spite of some repetitions, are here given. They were as follows: W. A. Sexton, druggist; Ludolph Wallesen, bricklayer; T. F. Vannedon, contractor; John Luis, proprietor of Eagle Hotel; Marshfield Bank, conducted by Arnold Bros.; Mrs. M. J. Platt, pianos; P. H. Held & Co., hardware; A. Hoerl, meat market; Syme Bros. & Maurer, stave and heading factory; W. H. Budge, drugs and chemicals; Miner & Hinman, druggists; C. M. Upham & Bros., lumber; B. Elvis, jeweler; W. G. Hinman & Co., furniture; J. R. Reilly, insurance; Merkel Bros., meat market; Miss E. M. Rowan, milliner; S. G. McMillin, law office; C. Bulman, boarding-house; Peter Bogrand, photographer; C. B. Warfield & Bros., grocers; J. H. Morel, liquor dealer; Weber & McGraw, house movers; G. W. Keyes, restaurant; J. R. Lawsha, proprietor of the New Cash Store; Carpenter & Felter, carpenters and builders; Dr. Lathrop, physician and surgeon. Marshfield in 1882 paid one-fifth of the state and county taxes raised in Wood County. It cast one-sixth of the total votes. A tax of $3523 was paid for school houses and the support of schools. The furniture factory turned out fifty bedsteads a day. During one week of that year there were six buildings erected.  

The Upham Company turned out 15,000 shingles per day and the stave factory made 25,000 staves each day. The following item from the Times in 1882 shows the pride the town took in its booming conditions: ' The Spencer House at Spencer stands vacant. Nothing like it can be found here."  

After the city was incorporated the first public action taken was to secure fire protection. The carts, hose and pump were procured. The waterworks system was very limited at that time. It was also at a disadvantage, for there was no way of telling the ward when an alarm was given. But, notwithstanding, this new fire department was the talk of the town for a time. An advertisement for the Fourth of July, 1883, is somewhat amusing to us now: "To outsiders the exhibition of the waterworks will be attractive and interesting." To quote further from the Times:

"On April 30, 1883, Frenchtown, a portion of the city extending along South Depot Street, burned. The fire broke out in Jos. Morel's saloon and spread from house to house very rapidly. All of the buildings on that street, and also three on Main were destroyed. The entire damage was estimated to be $6050, while the insurance was $2600. "In the following year there was another great fire, which destroyed one of our industries. April 9 the Upham saw mill caught fire from the smoke stack and burned so rapidly that all efforts to quench it were in vain. But by fierce fighting and favorable winds the yards about were saved. The mill had a capacity of 70,000 feet per day. Its value was $22,000 and it carried an insurance of $13,000. At this time 150 men were out of employment. But before the roof fell in Mr. Upham had made arrangements to get out timbers for a new mill.

Even in 1884, when Marshfield had reached the age of ten years we find that there did not seem to exist the peaceful, quiet condition that now marks the daily life. We draw this conclusion from an article in the Times of that year: "Sunday evening our city enjoyed its regular drunken row. These things are an established portion of the regular routine of business of our city, and some point on Central Avenue is always selected as the place of show. If an admittance could be charged quite a sum should be realized." But after a struggle of many additional years these occurrences have been overcome and the city has long enjoyed the reign of law and order.

"With the breaking of dawn of the year 1885 over the town of Marshfield came also its 'eve of prosperity.' For many years prior to this the inhabitants had worked side by side in the chafing harness of labor and at last they had their town through the critical stage of its life and were just about to settle down and enjoy the fruit of their labors. The Upham furniture factory had been rebuilt as was the Presbyterian Church, which had been burned. The voluntary fire department was well organized and the hose-house and city lock-up were situated where the Demokrat printing office now stands. Business in every line was prosperous and at the close of each week it was nothing unusual to have a dance or some other public amusement in which almost all of the people took part.. There was no distinct social line, and every one worked for the interest of the town in general. They had their amusement and so the town prospered. Old settlers said "Such good times can never last," and finally the fatal day came. "June 27 is the anniversary of the big fire of 1887-that most eventful of all days in our local history, when Marshfield was nearly wiped off the map, 250 buildings being destroyed, causing a loss to property owners of over a million. The terrible and exciting scenes of the conflagration are as vividly pictured on the minds of those who lived here then as if it had occured the present year. The fire seems to stand out so strongly in the minds of the people that the several years immediately preceding it are blank to them and everything is dated from the fire. Every citizen was more or less affected, some losing everything and others the means of livlihood." The following account of the disaster is given mainly as printed in the Marshfield Times on the following day.

  "At 11:49 a. m., Monday, fire was discovered in the lumber yards of the Upham Manufacturing Co. The fire started about the center of the yard and when the fire department arrived the flames had covered three large piles of lumber. Soon the Banner mills and elevator, the furniture factory, planing-mill, veneer works, dry houses, warehouses and paint shops, westward to the saw mill, and the whole Upham Co.'s immense plant were in ashes. Eastward the flames swept to the Cramner & Sons' livery barn and the Travelers' Home, with barn, having in the meanwhile crept northward to the Wisconsin Central water tank and depot, the beer warehouses and lumber piles of Adam Haffer, S. L. Nason and M. J. Powers, and to the First Ward, sweeping everything before them. Efforts were made to keep the flames from crossing the street, which was the key to the main business portion of the city. This, too, proved unavailing, the engineer being driven from the pump, several hundred feet of city hose and the hook and ladder cart being burned and several of the yard hydrants opened. Quickly the flames leapt across the street to the Central House and barn of G. I. Follett, crept down South Depot Street, taking J. Kohl's blacksmith and wagon shop, Henry Moldenhauer's saloon, the Demokrat office, Lizzie Kreb's millinery store and dwelling, A. Hoerl's meat market, J. Cannivet's saloon and Schmidt's store on the corner of Central Avenue and South Depot Street. Thence south the flames backed against the wind, sweeping Fassbender's tailor shop, Thomas Mersen's saloon and residence, F. Gotch's barber shop, Sim Courniou's saloon, Berg's blacksmith's shop, N. Lahr's saloon, Kohl's market and bakery, Pflum's harness shop, Merton's Hotel and saloon. Here another attempt was made to stay the backward-marching element by covering the Upham store. For a time the prospects were flattering, several buildings having been blown up with dynamite. But fate was against every effort and soon the building was in flames, which spread from there to Hartl's Hotel and saloon, and city hall and the Tremont House. The Clark House, E. Lindsley's building, Miss Powers' millinery store and the Ingalls building fell in their turn. In the meanwhile the Thomas House, two blocks off, took fire and down Central Avenue came the all-devouring element. Doll's residence and furniture store, Noll Sons hardware store, A. Thomas shoe shop, N. Berg's residence, B. Elvis jewelry store, F. Thiessen's harness shop, E. Derby's store, the Stilp building, Bogrand's photograph gallery and residence, Froelich's cigar factory and residence P. Beaver's pop factory, with three residences on Maple Street. Simultaneously the flames had jumped to the Vannedom block, wiping out Vedder & Co., Kautsky's and Sexton's, the Masonic hall, Farrow & Company's restaurant, Headstream & Headstream, notions and jewelry, Budge's drug store, Mrs. Smith's millinery and residence, J. Morel's saloon and residence, W. L. Briggs' clothing store and residence, the Marshfield House, Thorps residence, Springborn's residence, Norton's residence and two tennement buildings belonging to Anton Hersch, the post office building, Lathrop's office, Cole & Pors office, J. Seimetz hotel and saloon, Mess Union Market, the American House and barn, Hubl's furniture shop, Gerwing's store, Seubert saloon and residence, J. Meidl's meat market, Schmerler's shoe shop, M. Rapp's residence, Erion's residence and barn, Marzahl & Hoelz cigar factory and P. Weber's residence. Here the progress of the flames was stayed. On the North Side in the First Ward, besides the beer houses and lumber, burned the warehouses of the Upham Co., J. Couture's and C. Guckenberger's saloons. The residences of Dr. H. A. Lathrop, O. W. Saunders, James Johnson, S. Evans, E. S. Renne, F. A. Cady, James Tallant and some thirty others were in ashes. "At 12:00 o'clock assistance was asked from Stevens Point, which was sent at 1:30), too late to be of much service with the engine but in timeto do good service in saving property." Aid was also rendered by the fire department of Chippewa Falls. The people of Nasonville, Spencer, Colby, Auburndale and Hewett were also out in force and rendered valuable service in saving goods. The total loss amounted to about $1,000,000, the loss of the Upham Manufacturing Co. being about $300,000 alone, a large part of the lumber burned belonging to Sanger, Rockwell & Co. of Milwaukee. The insurance in general was light and in many instances there was none at all."

As soon as the news of the disaster was received by the neighboring cities they vied with other in sending assistance, and supplies of all kinds were soon pouring in. With a resolute spirit the people of Marshfield set to work at once to repair the disaster, Maj. William H. Upham setting the example. The city was cleaned of the thieves who had flocked in intent on loot, and building operations were begun as soon as the debris of the fire could be removed. The work of reconstruction progressed rapidly and in a few months a new city of substantial brick blocks had risen phoenix-like from the ashes of the old. These new and solid brick blocks numbered about sixty, and are practically standing today. Real estate in business localities commanded from $40 to $80 per front foot. A newspaper review of the situation in December, 1887, six months after the fire, showed that the city practically recovered from the disaster and was enjoying a high degree of prosperity. There were eight religious organizations, with as many church edifices, and three schools, one public and two private. There were two fine hotels, the Tremont and Thomas Houses, each a three-story brick building. Two newspapers were published-the Times, edited by Thomas S. Norton, and the Demokrat, a German paper, whose proprietor was H. J. Pankow. The largest manufacturing plant was that of the Upham Manufacturing Co., and in addition there were a number of others, including stave mills, hub and spoke factories chemical works, foundry and machine shops, artificial stone work, etc. There were also many handsome and costly residences. The population of the city was about 3,500. William H. Upham was then mayor.

During the next two or three years the city was steadily growing and every thing was booming. At the banquets of the societies and clubs those giving toasts and speeches always mentioned the thriving condition of Marshfield, the center of a great farming community.

"The electric light and waterworks were established in June, 1889. The Marshfield Light Infantry was organized and mustered into service with C. W. Allen as captain and E. E. Ames as first lieutenant. During this year the First Ward School was completed and the Central Avenue frame school was also in course of construction. A movement for a fair was started at a meeting of the council and business men. A soap factory came here and it was rumored that a box factory would come if enough capital could be raised. The city was putting itself to the front in hopes of getting the state's prison located here. The Omaha road began the line which connects Marshfield with Neillsville and this virtually started the Marshfield railroad boom. The Marshfield News was established by Adam Paulus and John P. Hume in 1889. The Korth Opera House was built in. 1890 and was destroyed by fire in 1894. It was a very large building situated on. the lots where the Episcopal Church and post office are now. The material used in the construction was all of the very best, and in consequence of the fact the building surpassed the present opera house, and indeed it would have been the pride of any city twice the size of this."

Having thus given an out line sketch of Marshfield's life and growth up to comparatively recent years, with an account of the great catastrophe which gave it a temporary setback, but from which it soon fully recovered, it is now necessary to fill in the outline by a more circumstantial mention of those things which have been the largest factors in that growth, or have been developed out of it, as the business enterprises, public utilities, schools, churches and societies. Between them all there has been more or less reciprocal action, as in the human body, where every organ in performing its proper functions helps to perfect and preserve the vitality of the whole. As the general advancement of a community depends chiefly upon its material resources, the more important business enterprises will be first glanced at, excepting only those mercantile enterprises an account of which is contained in the biographical part of this volume, and perhaps a few others for which data was not available. As already mentioned, the stave and spoke factory of Stillman, Brunson & Pettingill was the first manufacturing industry in the village and a sketch of its fortunes may be found in the biography of E. E. Winch.

Among the important industries of Marshfield which have been developed from very modest beginnings, and enjoyed a long and healthy growth is the Upham Manufacturing Company, which has been with us for more than forty years, and is as vigorous today as at any previous period of its existence. Moreover: its stability under varying conditions, due to the guiding hand of its founder, William H. Upham, who acts as its pilot, has had a beneficial effect upon the business life of the community generally. To eliminate the Upham Manufacturing Company in a review of Marshfield history would be equivalent to cutting out a large part of that history; for in many of the larger things pertaining thereto the history of the company has been an inseparable portion of the history of the city. The business was started in 1879 by Major William H. Upham in co-partnership with his brother, C. M. Upham, the former being the resident partner. A saw mill with a capacity of 6,000,000 or 7,000,000 feet per year, in conjunction with a small supply store, represented the industry in its initial stage. In 1881 a furniture factory and veneer works were added and operated under two distinct company names-the Marshfield Furniture Co. and the Marshfield Veneer Works. In 1883 the present corporation was formed, and in course of time, as the business throve, new departments were added and additional buildings erected. In 1884 the saw mill was destroyed by fire, and in 1887 the entire plant was burned to the ground. It was immediately rebuilt on a larger and more expensive scale, and its prosperity continued to increase. In 1890, ten years after its founding, this business included the following departments: (1), the lumber interests, the saw mill having a capacity of 22,000,000 feet per annum, both hardwood and pine lumber being manufactured; (2), the furniture department, the shipments amounting to 30 cars a month; (3), the flour mill, with a capacity of 225 barrels a day; (4), the grain elevator, with a capacity of 40,000 bushels; (5), the general store, occupying one of the finest and most expensive buildings in the city; (6), the Marshfield and Southern Railway, ten miles long, built by the company for the purpose of reaching their timber land; (7), the land and timber interests, the company owning 40,000 acres of timber land tributary to Marshfield, supplying various sorts of timber; (8), the water works; and (9), the electric light plant. The two latter are now owned and operated by the city, and some other changes have been made, but in most respects the plant is conducted along the same lines today as it was a number of years ago, with H. Upham still at its head. (See biographies of William H. and Frank R. Upham).

The Marshfield Stave Company was started about 1879 by Alexander Syme and brother, of Menasha, who had a factory at Clear Lake, Wis. Henry N. Maurer was engaged by them to come to Marshfield and take charge of the plant, they giving him an interest in the business, and after awhile the concern was known as Syme Bros. & Maurer. They had a good-sized factory, with one set of stave machinery and one set of heading machinery, the plant covering about two blocks in Ward six, near the "Soo" depot. Later the Syme interests were purchased by Mr. Maurer, and about June, 1894, E. E. Winch bought a half interest in the business. When suitable stave and heading timber was beginning to get scarce, Mr. Winch in 1898 built an excelsior factory, thus turning the original plant into a combination mill. In 1899 he bought out Mr. Maurer and for the next 14 years was the sole owner of the plant. He then took in E. A. Upham and Frank Martle as partners, and they both remained in the firm for four years, when Mr. Winch bought Mr. Upham's stock. Mr. Martle continuing to hold his. The hard times following the World War caused the plant to be closed down and at present it is not operating. It consists of a number of buildings and its water supply is derived from a well 180 feet deep that was drilled into the solid rock many years ago. The water in this deep well of the factory raises to a level of 40 feet from the surface, at which it always remains.

The Roddis Lumber & Veneer Company, one of the largest and most important concerns in the city, was established by William Henry Roddis, who in 1894 came to Marshfield and bought out the Hatteberg veneer factory located in the east end of town. Within the next 25 years he developed the business into one of the largest industries of its kind in the country. It is now included in the Roddis Lumber & Veneer Company, of which he was president, and addition to the plant in Marshfield the company has a large saw mill at Park Falls, Wis. Felker Bros.' Manufacturing Co. was organized at Kendall, Wis., in 1903. In 1906 the concern moved to Sparta and in December, 1908, to Marshfield. The first building erected here was a wooden structure, steel sheeted, and was finished for occupancy March 30, 1909. It measured 60 by 88 feet and stood on the site of the present building. Later on, in the fall of 1911, more factory space was added, including two floors 36 by 72 feet, and a second story for the original building. On the night of December 4, 1915, the plant was destroyed by fire, being totally wiped out in two and a half hours. By good fortune, however, or rather by good judgment, it had been insured, and by Dec. 10, 1916, a new building of of brick and steel mill construction arose on the same site, and this was the first unit of the present plant to be erected. Further units were added in 1920, maintaining the total plant area all on one floor, the building being strictly fire-proof, with modern heating, lighting and plumbing, making it one of the finest daylight plants in the state. The lines of business include the well known Perfection galvanized steel stock and storage tanks, welded steel hauling-tanks, gasoline and oil storage tanks, pneumatic pressure tanks, stock, tank heaters, feed cookers,. Perfection Keystone galvanized steel well casing and other related lines. An adequate force of salesmen is regularly maintained on the road, besides which a rapidly growing business with jobbers is conducted, the distribution covering practically the entire Mississippi Valley. The present officers are: A. G. Felker,. president; D. L. Miller, vice president; L. H. Felker, secretary, and R. T. Finucane, treasurer.

Blum Brothers Box Co. was incorporated Jan. 10, 1921, with Paul L. Blum as; president and treasurer, Peter Blum vice president, and John A. Blum secretary. The business had been started by Paul L. and John A. Blum in 1911 and conducted up to 1921 as a partnership concern. The factory turns out annually about 1,500,000 cheese boxes (in seven sizes) and about 400,000 butter tubs, which are handled direct from the factory to the consumer, a large part being delivered by auto truck and by team, and the balance by rail. The business done amounts annually to about $550,000. The company employs about 100 people and to secure its material does its own logging. The plant is equipped with the most modern machinery and is electrically lighted. It consists of a boiler, engine,. and machine shop, 30 by 60 feet; filing-room, 15 by 28; fuel room, 16 by 22; manufacturing room and dry kiln (two stories), 62 by 176; vat room, 16 by 18; office and warehouse, 50 by 100; garage 20 by 40; stable 24 by 40; and cut-off saw shed,, 12 by 30. The location is on West Ninth Street.

The Sparr Cereal Co., now one of the leading industries of Marshfield, was. built by the W. H. Upham Co. in 1884, as a part of their manufacturing interests. Its plant and buildings were completely destroyed in the great fire which visited Marshfield in May, 1887, but the Upham people immediately rebuilt these, and operated it until November 1909, when it was sold to the C. J. Sparr Co. It continued under the management of Mr. Sparr until February, 1921, when he retired and a re-organization was effected, the new company being incorporated under the same name, but with Louis A. Salter as general manager. In the spring of 1922 Mr. Salter traded his interests in the company to H. C. Koenig, who is now at the head of the concern, Mr. Salter having subsequently removed to Fond du Lac, Wis. The equipment consists of the milling plant, elevators, and storehouses; it has a daily capacity of 200 bbls. wheat flour, 100 bbls. rye flour, 100bbls. corn products, and 75 tons of feed. Grains, all Western grown, are milled into wheat flour, sold mostly in Chicago; rye flour, the bulk of which moves to' New York for export; and hominy and dairy rations, which find their chief market in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. They manufacture a total of 48 different items, chief of which is "Gold Bond" wheat flour, a product of high quality and widely known.

The Lang & Scharmann Machine Works originated in 1891. George J; Lang in 1886 started to learn the trade of machinist in the shop of R. H. Howarth, and remained there three and a half years, when the shop burned down. Mr. Howarth rebuilt it on a small scale and soon after Mr. Lang with Louis Christenson bought the business. A year later Mr. Christenson's interest was purchased by Otto Scharmann of Marshfield, and the present firm of Lang, & Scharmann was formed. The original plant, on South Cedar Street, was operated for about four years, at the end of which time the firm bought lots on West South Depot Street and erected a brick shop 30 by 90 feet in dimensions, and later added foundry equipment, erecting an addition to the plant 40 by 50 feetto accommodatethat department; a brick garage 60 by 90 feet was also built, and these with the ground and equipment, comprise the present plant. They do a very large and successful business.

The Johnson Manufacturing Co. had its origin in 1910, when Alexander Johnson, then a postal employee at Marshfield, began making gloves as an experiment, using a barn to house these activities. The experiment was a success, and from this humble beginning an industry of no small proportions has arisen. In 1911 a plant was erected at 809 South Central Avenue, machinery representing an investment of $3,000 was installed, and the manufacture of gloves, cheese bandages, cloth circles, and butter cloths was begun. Two stories have been added to the original one story plant, which measures 42 by 70 feet, and the machinery investment has been increased to $18,000; as many as sixty people are employed at one time, and the distribution of the product extends from the Carolinas to Portland, Ore. Alexander Johnson is president of the company; the other officers are Grant and Wayne Johnson, his sons, and Marcus A. Hansen. The Stewart Storage Battery Co. was founded at Chicago in February of 1921 and was moved to Marshfield in July of the same year; here they moved into the building formerly occupied by the Franklin Automobile Company on Central Avenue. E. J. Stewart was the founder of the company, which is a stock corporation; its officers, all of whom reside in Marshfield, are E. J. Stewart, president; E. V. Galvin, vice president; and R. A. Sleeper, secretary and treasurer. It is one of the largest of Marshfield's manufacturing industries; it manufactures approximately 150 storage batteries per day, and has a distribution covering Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, and Kentucky, and reaching as far east as Massachusetts; it has a branch distributing house located in Kansas City.

The New Marshfield Bedding Co. was incorporated Jan. 17, 1915, and built its plant the same year; E. H. Furstenburg is president and William A. Martin secretary and treasurer.. Mattresses, springs, and porch swing hammocks are manufactured and distributed over about two-thirds of the state, and the product is becoming widely known. Additions to the plant were made in 1919 and in 1920. The Marshfield Manufacturing Company, on North Depot Street, has been operated by Henry Kalsched and Adam Hafer since 1896. A large mail-order business in bee keepers' supplies, covering the entire United States and parts of Canada, is carried on; in the manufacture of these goods all the wood work is done at the plant here, the necessary metal parts being bought from manufacturers in the East. The active operation of the plant is now carried on by Mr. Kalsched. though Mr. Hafer, now living in Milwaukee, still retains an interest in the concern, The Marshfield Brick Co. was organized by Louis A. Hartl in 1917. The plant, having a capacity of 36,000 per day, is located one mile north of the city limits of Marshfield. The company has specialized in the production of a high-grade face brick which has come to have a wide distribution.  

The Libby, McNeil & Libby pickling station was acquired by its present owners about 1912, having previously been owned by the F. H. Witters Co. of Marshfield, who built it about 1905. It is one of the eighteen plants of this nature owned by the Libby Company in this state and under the supervision of John Ballam, state manager for the company.

The Reichert Chemical Manufacturing Co. was incorporated in May, 1919, with Carl C. Reichert as president and manager; F. G. Lundy, vice president; H. G. Hambright, treasurer; and F. W. Fornefelt, secretary. The company's factory and plant are located at 1306 South Central Avenue, and the concern is doing a large and increasing business in the manufacturing of polishes, oil cleaners and similar compounds, their goods being known as the "Everite Products." It is likely that the plant will be enlarged in the near future.

The Elgentone Manufacturing Co., producing phonographs, all kinds of cabinets, bakers' baskets, bath tubs, kitchen cabinets, refrigerators, etc., was established about 1918 by Adolph Paulsten, now removed from Marshfield. The plant was purchased in 1920 by William Hoffman, who is now operating it with Fred Mitsch as manager. The product has a wide distribution; at the present time the company is specializing in the manufacture of refrigerators, and plans to make this its most important line.

Brickheimer & Thorn, operating a feed mill at 210 East Sixth Street, bought their plant from Dodge Hooker of Wausau, and it was opened for business under their ownership May 1, 1921. Previously they were dealing in coal, hay, and potatoes in an adjoining building. The present plant was built by Dodge Hooker about 1916, but he had been operating a similar plant in Marshfield for some years previously. The present owners do wholesale grinding and in addition carry on a business in coal, flour, feed, grain, hay, potatoes, and live poultry. The S. Miller Fruit Co., operating a cold storage plant and doing a large wholesale fruit business, had its beginning in 1901 when S. Miller entered the produce business in Marshfield on a small scale. In 1915 the fruit company was incorporated for $20,000, and the cold storage company in 1919 for $200,000. Mr. Miller is president and manager. A large modern plant, four stories high and 44 by 230 feet in dimensions, was erected at 101 North Central Avenue in 1920. The Ripon Produce Co., H. A. Bumby president, and A. E. Wells, secretary and treasurer, operate two manufacturing plants-one in Ripon and the other in Marshfield-their products being butter and cheese. The original business was established in 1870 and the concern incorporated in 1900; thus it has an existence of more than half a century. They have sales houses at Negaunee, Mich., Milwaukee and Racine, Wis., and at Chicago and Rockford, Ill. The Marshfield branch handles about 13,000,000 pounds of milk annually and have an output of 1,000,000 pounds of butter, and this, with about a similar quantity from the Ripon plant, is shipped to the sales houses above mentioned. The Marshfield plant draws its milk supply from a radius of about 60 miles. The Tiffault-Kamps Mercantile Company, operating a modern department store in Marshfield, had its beginning in a small board shack erected just after the fire of 1887 had wiped out the business district of Marshfield. This building, located on the site now occupied by the Marshfield State Bank, was put up by P. J. Kraus and I. P. Tiffault to temporarily house their newly formed mercantile business, the firm then being known as Tiffault & Kraus. This building was occupied until October of the same year, when the business was moved into a brick building that had been erected on the site of the present Penney Store. In 1891 Mr. W. H. Kamps bought out Mr. Kraus, and the firm was known as Tiffault & Kamps until 1897, when it was incorporated as the Tiffault-Kamps Mercantile Company, with I. P. Tiffault as president and W. H. Kamps as secretary and treasurer, and under this arrangement it still continues. At the time of incorporation a building was purchased at 211-213 South Central Avenue, and this building, with the addition of a second story and other enlargements and improvements, is the store now occupied. It is a typical metropolitan department store, of which the city can well be proud, its white Glazed Tile front and beautiful display windows beautify the down-town section of the city, and the variety and quality of goods handled places at the doors of the citizens shopping facilities to be equalled only in the large centers of population.  

The Farmers Co-operative Produce Co. was founded in 1912 by a group of farmers who subscribed for its stock. A mill was purchased at that time from Peter Rasmussen, and an elevator to be operated in conjunction was built later. The mill does wholesale grinding, running about 35 carloads per year in this department. Other manufacturing industries, adding importance to Marshfield's industrial life, include the Whitehouse Cigar Co., owned by the firm of Kohl & Hermann; the Marshfield Candy Co.; the John G. Hoelz cigar factory; the Hub Bottling Works; the ice cream manufacturing plant of Ralph J. Baker; the Marshfield Bottling Works, and a number of creameries, cheese factories and dairies. The C. E. Blodgett and the R. Connor interests are also among the most important in Marshfield, as contributing to the modern business developments of the city, but the editors were unable to obtain detailed information in regard to them.

The First National Bank of Marshfield came into existence in December, 1880, as a branch of the Clark County Bank of Neillsville and was under the supervision of Llewellyn A. Arnold. A few months later, early in 1881, connections were severed with the Neillsville bank and thereafter it was known as the Marshfield Bank and was conducted by C. M. and L. A. Arnold. In 1882 C. B. Arnold became a member of the concern and took part in the management. G. M. Arnold, father of L. A. and C. B. Arnold, was president of the bank, but took no part in the management. The bank was located on the 26-foot frontage one door south of the Blodgett Hotel, then named the Tremont Hotel. It was a frame building erected by C. H. Clark as the first home of the Marshfield Times, the first paper printed in Marshfield. In order to make room for the bank the printing-office was moved into a woodshed in the rear of the building. In 1887, when fire destroyed the greater portion of the city, the building in which the bank was located was destroyed. The safe and the greater part of the bank's records and books were taken from the building before it burned and moved to the center of Central Avenue and covered with carpets taken from the Tremont Hotel. These were saturated with water and after the fire was subsided the safe and records were found in good condition. The remains of the bank, as it were, were then moved into the front room of the L. A. Arnold home, now the F. R. Upham residence, where the banking business was conducted during the rebuilding period. In 1888 the bank completed and moved into a new building, located where Mechler & Sons jewelry store is now, and which they occupied until 1921. After becoming domiciled in its new quarters its resources increased very rapidly, due largely to deposits made by those receiving payment from insurance companies for fire losses, until they nearly reached the two million mark. In April, 1891, the bank was sold by the Arnold Company to a company of Marshfield citizens and reorganized as the First National Bank, with a capital of $50,000, which has since been increased to $150,000. The first officers of the new First National were: W. H. Upham, president; Adam Hafer, vice president; W. D. Harshaw, cashier; E. L. Reese, assistant cashier. Mr. Harshaw resigned as cashier April 2, 1894, and Mr. Upham as director Jan. 8, 1895. The following named were elected officers, Jan. 14, 1895: Adam Hafer, president; William Uthmeier, vice president; E. L. Reese cashier; E.S.Schmidt, assistant cashier. E.S. Schmidt resigned Sept. 6, 1897, and was succeeded by John Seubert, who was elected the following January .and continued in office four years. E. L. Reese resigned as cashier May 22, 1906, and was succeeded by H. C. Hambright the following July, who still occupies the position. Adam Hafer resigned as president May 4, 1907, and was succeeded by B. F. McMillan. Mr. McMillan died Nov. 12, 1918, and J. C. Marsh was elected in his place. William Uthmeier died May 27, 1917, and was succeeded as vice president by P. J. Schaefer. The present officers are: J. C. Marsh, president; P. J. Schaefer, vice president; H. G. Hambright, vice president and cashier; Adolph Kleinheniz, assistant cashier, and A. J. Rasmussen, assistant cashier. The directors are: J. C. Marsh, P. J. Schaefer, F. A. Noll, W. G. Sexton, William Hipke and H. C. Koenig. On April 1, 1922, a consolidation was effected with the Marshfield State Bank. The construction of the magnificent building now occupied by the institution was started in April, 1920 and the bank moved into it and opened business November 21, 1921. This building, the exterior dimensions of which are 52 by 105 feet, was designed and its construction superintended by Arthur Guilbert, architect, of Racine, Wis, It is said to be the finest bank building in the state, and its luxurious magnificence must be seen to be rightly appreciated. Neither pains nor expense were spared to make it unique as a model home of finance, and the result more than met the highest expectations. Its substantial and modern construction, combined with Grecian elegance of design; its artistic interior decorations and luxurious fittings, in which not a single thing has been omitted that could contribute to the convenience and comfort of officers,. employees and patrons alike leaving nothing unthought of or to be desired even by the most fastidious, taken altogether form a work of art both complete and perfect which would of itself be sufficient to put Marshfield on the map if there were nothing else in the town.

The Marshfield State Bank, now consolidated with the First National, was organized in November, 1907, and was chartered Feb. 2, 1908, by C. E. Blodgett, of Marshfield, Richard Roll, Sr., of Hustisford, and Amos Roll of Hustisford. It was capitalized for $50,000, and began business at the corner of Central Avenue and Third Street West, in a humble building 18 by 35 feet in ground dimensions. This building continued to be the home of the institution until 1918, when a modern two-story brick building, 37 by 84 feet, was erected on the old site. The bank was on the ground floor and the upper story consisted of offices for rental. The interior of the bank was beautifully finished and had a complete modern equipment. The capitalization of the bank remained at $50,000, and its statement dated Dec. 31, 1921, showed the surplus and undivided profits to be $23,649.51, with deposits of $738,206.83. The banking house, furniture and fixtures were valued at $35,438.04. The surplus and assets were placed at $1,100,000. The board of directors consisted of William Hipke, H. C. Koenig, Amos Roll, J. W. Salter, Hugo Wegener, William Welter and C. J. Sparr. The officers were: William Hipke, president; H. C. Koenig and Richard Roll, Jr., vice presidents, Amos Roll, cashier, and J. C. Cundy, assistant cashier. On Jan. 24, 1922, the bank suffered a heavy loss by fire which ruined practically the entire interior of the building upstairs and down, and on April 1, 1922, it surrendered its charter and was consolidated with the First National Bank of Marshfield.  

The American National Bank, Marshfield, was incorporated Dec. 28, 1891, as the German American Bank, with a capital of $25,700.00, the original stockholders being R. Dewhurst, H. W. Mauer, R. L. Kraus, John Brinkman, M. Steinmetz,. Frank Cramer, W. D. Connor, P. N. Christensen, F. A. Noll, E. M. Deming, C. S. Vedder, John Rausch and B. F. McMillan. R. Dewhurst was president, R. L. Kraus vice president, and O. G. Lindeman cashier. Business was begun in June, 1892, on the present site at 205 South Central Avenue. On June 18, 1900, the institution was re-organized and became a national bank under the name of the American National Bank, of Marshfield, with a capital of $50,000.00, a surplus of $10,000.00 and assets of $150,000.00. In 1912 the building was remodeled and is now fireproof, with a brown sandstone front and a full modern equipment inside. In October, 1919, the capital of the bank was increased to $150,000.00, surplus $35,000.00, and the assets at the present writing, Sept. 1, 1922, total over $1,600,000.00. The bank is one of the strong financial institutions of the county and an important factor in its business life. The present officers are: W. D. Connor, president; P. N. Christensen, vice president; T. D. Spalding, vice president and cashier; J. Leinwander, assistant cashier; and J. L. Stauber, assistant cashier. The board of directors consists of W. D. Connor, P. N. Christensen, E. M. Deming, Ben Lang, Louis Hartl, L. E. Gilson, R. Connor, Frank Cramer and Henry Kalsched. The latest addition to Marshfield's financial institutions is the Cloverland State Bank, which was incorporated Oct. 16, 1922, with a capital of $50,000.00, for the purpose of doing a general banking business. The old State Bank building, injured by fire in January, 1922, has been taken over, repaired and remodeled. The officers and directors-all Marshfield men are: Officers-L. E. Gilson, president; Otto Peterson, vice president; J. H. Cundy, cashier. Directors-L. E. Gilson, Otto Peterson, J. H. Cundy, Louis Heil, Joseph Whittington, W. W. McCulloch and Wayne Deming.

The Marshfield Chamber of Commerce was organized March 1, 1918, under the auspices of the American City Bureau, and has about 175 members. Its building, at 105 West Third Street, was originally occupied by Dr. K. -W. Doege, but was then located on the site where the present W. J. Purdy Junior High and Vocational school now stands. After being taken over by the Chamber of Commerce in 1919 it was moved to its present site on ground leased by the Marshfield State Bank interests; the necessary office space was set aside and the balance was turned into a public rest room, with all facilities for the accommodation of the general public, which was opened in October of 1919, and at which the registrations have amounted to about 1,000 per month. Previous to the acquisition of these quarters the Chamber was located in the City Hall building. It was very active in all war work, being headquarters for all liberty bond drives and philanthropic organizations; through its efforts the People's Gas Co. and the Marshfield Building and Loan Association were brought into being; and it has assisted in enlarging the industrial life of the city. During recent months it has specialized in protecting the general public from the activities of business and other enterprises which were not bona fide.

The Marshfield Rotary Club, No. 522, was granted a charter Aug. 1, 1919, and now includes most of the leading business and professional men of the city. Among the more notable of its accomplishments was its work in connection with the establishment of the soldiers' memorial at Marshfield, a work which was started by the president of the club and in the raising of funds for which a committee of the club rendered valuable assistance.  

The first newspaper in Marshfield was the Marshfield Times, a Republican weekly, which was started in the latter part of the year, 1879 by Charles H. Clark, who about that time came to this city from Centralia (now a part of Wisconsin Rapids), where he had started and conducted for a few months the Centralia Enterprise. It is also said that Clark, in 1880, started a German paper, which he called the Wood County Herald, but which he discontinued after a year. According to another account, he printed one side of the Times in German. The paper, as printed in English had a long existence and passed through a number of hands. In 1882 Clark sold it to Charles A. Coon, who in June, 1883, bought out the Gazette and united the two papers under the title of the Times and Gazette. The Gazette had been started on June 17, 1882, by A. E. Deming and Dr. Isaac W. Hanna in opposition to the candidacy for Congress of Isaac Stephenson of Marinette, as it was generally believed at the time that Mr. Stephenson was making a too free and unfair use of money in his political campaign. As Messrs. Deming and Hanna were not practical newspaper men, they employed Charles Herr as managing editor. In May, 1885, Charles A. Coon sold the Times and Gazette to Thomas S. Norton of Spencer, who dropped the "Gazette" part of the title and conducted the paper for a number of years as the Marshfield Times, as he was still its proprietor in 1890 or 1891. The Times then passed into the hands of John De Groff, who conducted it for five or six years. Williams & White had it in 1897, or perhaps in the previous year. In 1903 it was published by Williams & Bailey, who remained its owners for a number of years thereafter. In 1911, or perhaps 1910, the Marshfield Times Company was organized, consisting of P. A. and R. R. Williams, the latter being its editor until 1915 or 1916, when he leased the business to Michael and Leo Berg, he and his son, however, remaining its owners. After the entry of the United States into the World War, Leo Berg entered military service and the paper went back to Williams & Son, who engaged M. C. Hoerl to manage it. On Mr. Berg's return from the war he resumed his former position as editor and the Williamses remained proprietors of the Times until January, 1920, when they sold.out to G. V. Kraus, who changed the name of the paper to the Wisconsin Hub, continuing it for one year as a weekly. In the spring of 1921, the Hub was consolidated with the Marshfield News, previously owned and conducted by E. S. Bailey. In March of the same year Kraus & Bailey started a daily known as the Marshfield Daily News, which is now published by them in connection with a weekly known as the Marshfield Weekly News and Wisconsin Hub, the daily being an eight page, six column paper, and the weekly being made up of six pages of eight columns each. Both papers are well patronized.

The Marshfield News was founded Sept. 12, 1887, and was owned and edited as a Democratic weekly by J. P. Hume and Adam Paulus under the firm name of Hume & Paulus. In 1897 the publisher was Adam Paulus, and he remained so until 1906, when the control passed to the Marshfield News Co., a corporation who made the News a Republican sheet. They later leased the paper to Thomas Lyons and J. H. White. In 1909 the corporation was sold to E. S. Bailey, who published the News alone until the spring of 1921. Then Mr. Bailey merged the Times (then called the Wisconsin Hub) with the News and a new corporation, named the Marshfield Publishing Co., was organized, which on March 7, 1921, began the publication of the Daily News, the first daily paper in Marshfield. They also continue to publish the weekly under the name of the Marshfield News and Wisconsin Hub.

The Marshfield Herald, a progressive Republican weekly, was established by the White Printing Co., which was formed for the purpose May 6, 1911, and was composed of John H., W. G. and Dan White. In 1914 Dan White retired from the firm, since which time the paper has been published by John H. and W. C. White. The Herald has the largest circulation ever enjoyed by a weekly paper in Wood County.  

The Wochenblatt.--In 1884 H. J. Pankow established in Marshfield a German weekly paper called the Demokrat. In 1885 the publishers were Pankow & Kohl. Then H. J. Pankow had it alone until 1892 or 1893, when the firm of A. G. and H. J. Pankow was formed, by whom the Demokrat was published for some 19 or 20 years. About 1912-13 the Demokrat Publishing Co. was organized, the members of which were A. G. Pankow and wife Ida, and John Witt and wife Ella, and this company continued the publication of the paper until 1915. After that for several years John Witt was the publisher and the Demokrat, previously Democratic, had become independent in politics. In 1919 Mr. Witt became associated in partnership with Jacob J. Rebsteck, and in February, 1920, the name of the paper was changed to the Wochenblatt, which name it still retains. In April, 1922, Mr. Rebsteck bought out Mr. Witt and is now the sole owner.

It has been already mentioned that when the site of Marshfield was surveyed in December, 1874 and April, 1875, the directions for the survey specified that Lots 13, 14 and 15 of Block L, and Lots 1, 2 and 3 of Block A should be reserved for sites of public school buildings. But previous to this it seems a school had been taught, in the summer of 1873, some assigning to Miss Clara Davis the credit of being the teacher. As this is disputed by one, if not more of the old residents of the city, it may be proper to state that opinion seems unanimous that the first three teachers were undoubtedly Miss Clara Davis, Miss Fannie Baker and Miss Ella Kelly, and that one of these taught the first school, the name of Clara Davis being mentioned in that connection in the "History of Northern Wisconsin," published in 1881, only eight years after the event spoken of. Miss Kelly's work has been more specifically alluded to in sketching the early history of the city. A story printed some years ago to the effect that in 1875 there was "only one child in Marshfield of school age and that she did not go to school because there was none," is here given for what it is worth. If it is true it is not easy to guess what became of the children who attended the summer school said to have been kept in 1873. However that may be, a record previously quoted shows that "a summer school of two months was held in 1877 in an old frame house on South Depot Street, with Madge Mahoney as teacher," and that it was soon after that that a schoolhouse was built which stood on the site of the present residence of Dr. Hayward. The History of Northern Wisconsin (1881) in its mention of Marshfield, says: "There are two district schools, with still another in process of building, which will cost the sum of $3,500, the last one, built in 1877, costing $1,400." From this it would seem that a regular schoolhouse had been built before 1877, the one built in that year being the second. In any case it is plain that by 1881 education in Marshfield had been placed upon a substantial footing and the people were building schools to keep pace with the increasing child population. In 1882 the citizens paid a tax of $3,523 for schoolhouses and the support of schools. Since then the system has expanded at an increasing rate, and with greatly increased efficiency.

In the spring of 1888 the "Central School" being too small to accommodate the pupils, two new departments were organized, one in a building on the north side and another in the Band of Hope Hall on Third Street. In 1889 the school district sold the Central Avenue frame building to the city and proceeded to erect a large brick high school on its site costing $15,446.99. In 1895 what was known as the Fourth Ward School was built, and in 1903 the First Ward building was finished. It was not long before the high school on Central Avenue was far too small and the present commodious structure was built in 1899, costing about $20,000. In 1903.the First Ward building was finished.  

A review of the schools, published in the Marshfield City Times, April 19, 1916, said:

"From rather insignificant beginnings the schools of the city have grown to such an extent that a force of 36 teachers is now required to handle them. Four ward buildings, namely, the Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln and Grant schools are required to house the grade schools of the city. Only normal school graduates are employed as teachers in the grades, which insures a high standard of instruction. During the present year instruction in manual training, cooking and sewing has been added to the curriculum of the seventh and eighth grades, so that the instruction is up to date in every respect. Music and drawing is also taught in all grades. Next year a special supervisor, who will spend all of her time in grade supervision, will be employed, and with this addition the grades in the city will be conducted so as to make the work practically the equal of anything in the state. Boys and girls between the ages of 14 and 17 who have been forced to drop out of school before finishing the grades are taken care of by the Continuation School, which has its headquarters in the Washington building. These working boys and girls are instructed in reading, writing, domestic science, English, arithmetic, civics and hygiene. The Continuation School is fostered by the Board of Education, which also maintains a day and evening commercial school. This school is: free to all residents of the city and has proven popular during the year in which it has been operated. All told, the Continuation Schools of the city are accommodating about 150 young people this year. The expense for maintaining the schools fostered by the Industrial Board is equally divided between the city and the state. The McKinley building is the home of the High School. During the last year this building has been improved by an addition costing over $20,000, so that it is now up to date in every respect. The High School curriculum provides a general course for those who wish to go to college, and a commercial course for pupils who wish to fit themselves for the business world. A domestic science course is also offered, and the advisability of adding a four-year course in agriculture is now being considered. That the instruction in the High School is of high grade is indicated by the fact that a state inspector recently rated the school as up to the very highest standard in the state. Public speaking is emphasized and the school has been very successful in this line of work. Twice since 1909 the representatives of the local school have won the state championship in oratory; last year they carried off the state championship in debate and this year in the same line of work the school has just won second place in the state in competition with 27 of the best high schools. Ten teachers administer the work of the High School, which now has an enrollment of 200."

The above review, printed six years ago, may be fitly supplemented by the following facts, furnished by Prof. Chester Newlun, the present superintendent: "Since 1916 the Marshfield schools have made rapid progress. In 1917, because of the over-crowded conditions, both in the grades and in the high school, the district voted to build a new Junior High School. The building was delayed because of the war and was not completed until September, 1920. In the meanwhile the schools prepared for the new organization. They adopted a course of study which provided six years of high school work, instead of four. The schools are now organized on the 6-3-3 plan, which means that the first six grades are in the elementary schools, the seventh, eighth and ninth grades in the Junior High School, and the tenth, eleventh and twelfth grades in the Senior High School. In the course of study for the high schools are six years of Home Economics, three years of Manual Training, including both metal and wood working, four years of Commercial work, and four years of Agriculture, in addition to the regular Academic course offered in high schools. The special course in the study of Vocations and Occupations is given throughout the six years of high school. The present enrollment in the grades is about 800 and in the high schools-about 350 in the Junior High School and about 300 in the Senior High School, with 60 teachers employed. In April, 1922, the Marshfield Board of Education and the Marshfield Industrial School Board mutually agreed to combine the Vocational School with the public schools for administrative purposes, so that now the two school systems in Marshfield are consolidated and are running as one unit. The Junior High School was named the William D. Purdy School in honor of William D. Purdy, who lost his life July 4, 1918, in Alsace, in order to save the lives of several of his comrades in the army. The episode of his throwing himself upon the several exploding bombs to save the lives of his comrades is quite generally known.

The building was named in his honor and dedicated to the ex-service men of the great war. The total cost of the building and equipment was approximately $105,000. It houses both the Junior High School and the Continuation School. Its equipment is new and modern throughout. That in the wood-working shop and in the metal-working shop cost approximately $10,000. The growing conditions in the school, however, are going to make it necessary to build an addition very soon to the Willard D. Purdy School. Not only this, but additions will have to be built to some of the grade buildings to take care of the additional enrollment. Already in the fall of 1922 a Kindergarten was added to the Grant School at a cost of $7,000. The Marshfield Junior High School is one of the first nine genuine junior high schools in the state of Wisconsin. The Marshfield High School also' was one of the first four to introduce directed or supervised study organization in the high school. The fundamental principle which is the guiding policy of the schools is to emphasize the value of the individual boy and girl. The Marshfield school system has attracted wide attention because of its instruction in Vocational Guidance, its plan of supervised study, its 6-3-3 organization, and its consolidation of the Vocational and public school systems. On Feb. 5, 1922, the superintendent was on the program of the annual convention of the National Association for Vocational Guidance held in Chicago. On Nov. 9, 1922, he was on the program of the annual convention of the State Teachers' Association of Wisconsin held in Milwaukee on the subject of the functioning of a Junior High School. The Marshfield schools are also making a special effort to develop the physical well being of the children, as well as their mental well-being. They employ two physical education instructors for the children in all the schools and a school nurse and a nutrition expert. All children below standard weight are provided withhot lunches and milk twice a day." The schools, with their respective locations, are: The Senior (McKinley) High, West Fifth and Oak Streets; Junior High (Willard D. Purdy School), which houses also the Continuation School, 110 West Third Street; Washington School, South Central Avenue and Sixth Street; Grant School North Oak Street and Central Avenue; Jefferson School, East Eleventh and South Cedar Streets, and Lincoln School, East Fourth and South Vine Streets. The superintendent is Chester Newlun.

The cause of religion in Marshfield has kept pace with that of education. The First Presbyterian Church of Marshfield was organized Nov. 27, 1878, by Rev. Jacob Patch, and started with 15 members, namely: Mrs. Hulda Bronson, Mrs. Elizabeth Curler, L. D. Wood, Mrs. Matilda Wood, William H. Upham, Mrs. Mary C. Upham, Mrs. C. E. Kellogg, G. N. Stanley, Mrs. Matilda J. Stanley, Mrs. Rachel Grout, H. H. Curler, David Arnoldson, Dr. W. T. Saw, Mrs. E. F. Saw and James Johnson. For awhile services were held in the schoolhouse, which was a small building containing only 12 chairs, so that those who came late were obliged to stand. Owing to this cause late arrivals were rare. In 1882 a church building was erected on the present site, corner of Third and Chestnut Streets. This was burned in 1885, after which the present building, minus certain improvements since made, was erected. The improvements referred to were put in in the fall of 1907, the church building being raised and a basement put underneath, the main building enlarged and new seating put in, all at a cost of about $9,000. The present property, including the lot is worth over $30,000. The Rev. Jacob Patch, the first pastor, served the church until October, 1879, the succeeding pastors having been as follows: Rev. L. F. Brickles, November, 1879 to April, 1882; Rev. L. H. Jenkins, from June to November, 1882, when he was stricken with paralysis; Rev. Frederick P. Baker, December, 1882 to August, 1887; Rev. W. V. Chapin, September, 1887 to September, 1888; Rev. J. M. Smith, December, 1888 to November, 1889; Rev. O. J. Scovell, April, 1890 to December, 1892; Rev. Rollo Branch, January, 1893 to December, 1896; Rev. J. Frank Young, January, 1897 to February, 1906; Rev. H. C. Postlethwaite, June, 1906 to March, 1911; Rev. Melvin R. Laird, May. 1911 to February, 1913; Rev. F. Halsey Ambrose, August, 1913 to September, 1918; Rev. Joseph R. Warwick, December, 1918 to April, 1920; Rev. Frank Zimmerman, July, 1920 to the present time. Under the pastorate of the Rev. O. J. Scovell the church secured a pipe organ. The elders since the beginning have been as follows: James Johnson, 1878-1882; L. D. Wood, 1878-1884; W. H. Upham, 1878-1879; Dr. W. T. Saw, 1879-1880 (died while serving); Warren E. Wheeler, 1882-1883; Frank R. Upham, February, 1882 to the present time; Peter Le Mayhew, 1884-1891; Jason Payne, 1883-1884; Adam Long, 1884-1905; Benjamin Elvis, 1889-1911; Henry L. Brooks, 1886-1889 and 1891 to the present time; Herman S. Buchmiller, February, 1905 to March, 1908; C. I. Morrison, April, 1908 to March, 1910; E. A. Severson, March, 1910 to March, 1913; Herbert Burt, March, 1910 to the present; G. N. Loughead, March, 1913 to date; Hans Henry William Rossman, March, 1917 to date; F. W. Fornefelt, March, 1917, to date. The church has now about 400 members, the Sunday school enrollment being about 300. The societies connected with the church are the Ladies' Aid, Ladies' Missionary and Young People's Society for Christian Endeavor.

Immanuel's Evangelical Lutheran Church in Marshfield was founded in October of 1880 by the Rev. M. Denninger, of the Town of Mozelle, in Sheboygan County. The first congregation included about a dozen families and had its officers the following: H. Scharmann, president; H. A. Pankow, secretary; and Fred Zirbel, treasurer. A church building was immediately erected, located near the site of the present edifice, which supplanted it in 1892, the original building now being in use as a garage. The first minister to serve the congregation was Rev. B. Ungrodt, who came from Medford every fourth Sunday to hold services; he was followed in 1885 by the Rev. L. Thom, who still resides in Marshfield and whose ministry to this congregation extended over a period of 36 years. He was followed in 1921 by the present pastor, Rev. O. Hensel. A parochial school building was erected just back of the church in 1905, and an excellent brick parsonage was built in 1915. There are now almost 800 communicant members of the congregation, which numbers a total of 1,100 souls. About 100 children attend the parochial school, which employs two teachers. There are nine teachers for the Sunday School classes, and about 100 pupils attend. There is also a Luther League with about 65 members, and there are two organizations of the ladies of the church, a Sewing Circle having a membership of 35 and a Ladies' Aid Society of about 225 active workers. The Methodist Episcopal Church of Marshfield was organized in 1881 by the Rev. O. A. Britton as an out-appointment of Spencer. The parsonage was at Spencer, and at that time Spencer was considered the principal town on the Wisconsin Central Railway. The first service was held in the public school house.  


In 1883, during the pastorate of Rev. C. C. Swartz, action was taken toward building a church. In the Conference Minutes for 1884 was the record, "At Marshfield a new and beautiful church is about ready for dedication." On the tenth of May in the following year the church was dedicated. It was located on the corner of Central Avenue and Sixth Street, where the Winona oil station is now located. These lots were given by the Fox River Valley Co. and the church was built according to plans provided by the Church Extension Society. The record of the first board of trustees contains the name of C. B. Wharfield, who still remains on the Board. In 1886, during the pastorate of Rev. G. A. Fulcher, the church was moved to the corner of East Third and Maple Streets; the Conference Minutes record the event as follows, in the report of Presiding Elder W. R. Irish: "Our church at Marshfield and Spencer charge has been removed from the suburbs to a central location at an expense of $150.00". The church had to be moved over ground covered with logs, brush, and green stumps. In 1892 the Rev. W. J. Speers had the interior changed by building an alcove for the pulpit on the east side, increasing the seating capacity and making the interior more pleasing. Chairs were used for seating until 1895, when the Rev. A. L. Tull secured pews and art glass windows for the church. During his pastorate in 1901 Rev. E. A. McKinney led people in an enlargement of the property nearly doubling its seating capacity. The last improvement to the old building was made in 1912, when a basement was added to the church and furnaces installed. In fall the of 1920 the old building was inadequate and beyond economical repair. The official board, with a vision of the needs of tomorrow, made plans for the erection of the beautiful new building which was dedicated June 11, 1922. W. L. Alban, of St. Paul, an experienced architect in church work, was engaged to draw the plan, and W. Townsend of Reedsburg, Wis., was selected to superintend the construction. The result is one of the finest church buildings in Wisconsin, incorporating all the modern principles of church construction. The design is Gothic, with central tower; the dimensions are 88 by 83 feet; the outside construction is of brick and stone, and the interior of the auditorium is finished in panelled oak, with ceiling beams to match. The auditorium floor is sloped, so that the occupant of every seat may have an uninterrupted view of the pulpit, and there is a choir loft with seating capacity for a choir of thirty. The organ is a masterpiece of the famous organ builder, M. P. Moller, or Hagerstown, Maryland, whose factory is the largest in the world. Separate from the auditorium by folding partitions is the Sunday School section, which is arranged on the most up to date plan with separate rooms for each department and yet so planned that all rooms can be opened into the main auditorium when so desired, making the seating capacity of the church about 750. There is a fine gymnasium about 60 feet long by 35 feet wide, with a stage for concerts at the north end. This room can be used as a dining hall where large numbers can be served. Space for bowling alleys has been provided, with shower baths and lockers. There is a pastor's study, with built-in bookcases and fireplace. Every feature, in fact, which could add to the convenience, utility, or beauty of the edifice has been incorporated. Beginning in 1881 with eight members the church now has nearly 300 enrolled. A strong, well graded Sunday School meets each week. Senior and Junior Epworth Leagues cater to the needs of the young people. A Men's Club furnishes social entertainment and inspiration to the men of the congregation. The women of the church render untiring service through the Ladies' Aid. Also there are Woman's Home and Woman's Foreign Missionary Societies. Today the interest is growing and large audiences attend all services. Rev. Fred J. Jordan, who has been in charge of the congregation since 1917, is a man of exceptional ability and commands deep respect throughout the community.  

Zion's Church of the Evangelical Association was established in Marshfield about 1888. Its first establishment in central Wisconsin was in 1879, in Grant Township, Clark County. In 1882 a branch was started in the village of Dorchester in the same county, and in 1883 one in the Township of Fremont in that county. The Marshfield congregation was the next to be established. The present building was erected at that time, and services were held by the pastor of the Dorchester congregation, Rev. Ellen Siebert being the first to serve in this way. At a later date a resident minister was secured, and there are now 96 members of the church here. The Sunday School is taught by eleven teachers and is attended by 140 pupils; there is a good Ladies' Aid Society with 26 members. The present pastor, Rev. W. F. Schuelke, has served the congregation for the past six years and also holds services at four outlaying points, including Cary Bluff, in Wood County; the congregation there was organized in the fall of 1921; it now has 50 members and plans for the erection of a suitable edifice are under way.  

"Saint Alban's Mission (Episcopal), Marshfield, is an organic part of the diocese of Fond du Lac, Bishop Weller being the ecclesiastical head.' Bishop Weller, then rector of Stevens Point, in the year 1891 came to Marshfield to look up communicants of the church and the possibilities of starting a mission. After making a house to house, canvass he found two communicants, Mrs. Dewey and Mrs. E. C. Pors. Of the two oldest communicants Mrs. E. C. Pors is still connected with the mission and is a hard and faithful worker in the Guild. In the year 1891 the Right Reverend Bishop Grafton visited and confirmed a class for confirmation consisting of Mrs. John Gill, Miss Jessie Gill, Miss Viola Hayter and Miss Anna Bayless, now Mrs. Anna Bouldrie. Mrs. Bouldrie is the one of the four still living in Marshfield and she is an active member of the Guild and Mission. The first service held in Marshfield was held in the M. E. Church building in April, 1893. The Sunday School was started and the list contains the names of Jean Cracraft, the Eiche children and Matt Wright. The Bishop rented a small building which stood next to the Elks Club house, and a lay reader was sent into the city to conduct the services, Bishop Weller, or, as he was then known, Father Weller, coming into Marshfield to say Mass. It might be of interest to state that the first missionary was Mr. Percy Silver, who is now Father Silver, Chaplain of West Point. About 22 years ago William Henry Roddis and family moved to Marshfield, and with the advent of that family the church took on new life. The present piece of property was purchased and the church building erected. Mr. W. H. Roddis was senior warden for 25 years and his death was a blow to the work. During his life Mr. Roddis was a very liberal supporter, and it was through his donations that the church was able to continue its life in the community. In 1921 a Guild Hall was erected costing $35,000. The Mission owns property valued at $65,000 and has an endowment. Saint Alban's Mission is actively engaged in social service work. The present vicar, Henry A. Link, is a native of New York. He received his education at Morris High School, Columbia University, and the University of Wisconsin. His theological work was done at Nashotah House, Nashotah, Wis. During his vicarship the Mission has advanced spiritually and materially." Rev. H. A. Link.

St. Paul's Evangelical Church congregation held its first meeting Sept. 11, 1893, and was first served by the Rev. Conrad Hartenstein; it originally numbered 20 members. The present church edifice was erected immediately after the congregation was formed, and was dedicated Nov. 18, 1894. Rev. Hartenstein was followed by Rev. Ludwig, who served from 1897 to 1899 and was succeeded by Rev. Koch, who remained one year. After him Rev. Lauxman served from 1900 to 1902 and was followed in order by Rev. Ringle, Rev. Ludwig Streich, Rev. Bitzer, Rev. A. G. Fleer, Rev. Elmer Fleer, Rev. Beier, Rev. Link, Rev. Rosenfeld, and Rev. G. A. Schmeisser. The last named resigned in August of 1922, since which time, up to the present writing, the church has been served by the Rev. Grauer of Wausau. There are about 100 members now; there is. a good Sunday School and a Ladies' Aid Society of 57 members. A good frame parsonage was erected in 1900.

The Marshfield congregation of the Seventh Day Adventists had its origin in a meeting held June 8, 1901; the church was formally organized with sixteen charter members at a meeting held the following day, when officers were appointed as follows: C. E. Hamel, elder; A. P. Guptill, deacon; Della Cady, clerk;,W. H. Budge, treasurer and librarian. A church building was purchased in 1904. There are now 42 members of the congregation; the Sunday School is attended by 38 pupils, and there is an active organization of the ladies of the congregation known as the Busy Bee Society. A parochial school equipped to teach the full eight grades is maintained, of which the present teacher is Walter Nelson. The Marshfield congregation of Christian Scientists was organized in the fall of 1913. Services were held in the Odd Fellows' Hall for about one year, and then for about four years in the Deming Hall, after which the present church property at the corner of Second and Maple Streets was purchased. The organization now has a good membership.  

First English Lutheran Church of Marshfield, Wis. "It was at a convention of the Oshkosh Conference of the Joint Synod of Ohio and other states, held at Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, in the fall of 1919 that the first thoughts were entertained and the first steps taken to open an English Lutheran Church at Marshfield. After some brief investigation the project was put aside for the time being. During the summer of 1921 the need of an English Lutheran Church became more apparent; a church in which the faith of our fathers might be taught, especially to the younger American generation, as also to those of Scandanavian descent, of which there were a goodly number in and about Marshfield who were eagerly waiting to have the Lutheran faith spoken and taught to them and their children in a language other than the German. After some preliminary work by Rev. George Beckmann, of Wausau, Wis., and the finding that the people interested were sufficient in number to warrant the practicability of starting this new church, a meeting was called for the evening of Aug. 26, 1921, to publicly consider the matter and if possible effect an organization. The project was explained from various angles and thoroughly discussed, whereupon the formation of such an organization was unanimously agreed upon. The name for this new enterprise was then acted upon, and "The First English Lutheran Church of Marshfield" adopted as the official name. Mr. R. J. Anderson was elected as first president of this new organization and Mr. Robert Schroeder secretary and treasurer. On Sunday, Sept. 4, 1921, the first divine service was conducted by the undersigned, in the church of the Adventists, the use of which had been secured by leasing. From the very beginning the attendance and interest manifested was encouraging. Services were then held every Sunday, alternating morning and evening. Rev. George Beckmann served the church, coming over from Wausau until snow became too deep to go the "Fordway", and, there being no Sunday train service, neighboring pastors willingly and energetically assisted in the rendering of Sunday services until the present permanent pastor, Rev. J. M. Johnson, was installed March 12, 1922, who since spent his time and energy for the upbuilding and welfare of the First English Lutheran Church at Marshfield; under his able leadership, the interest which was shown from the beginning is being fostered and not permitted to decrease." Rev. George Beckmann.  

The Marshfield City Library had its beginning in the early eighties in 500 "volumes donated to the city by John J. Marsh, then of New York, through Mrs. W. H. Upham. They were standard works selected in Boston by a careful librarian. For quite a number of years the ladies of the city took turns in caring for the little library, which in 1885 occupied a part of Dr. Budge's drug store. It was subsequently moved several times, however. At the time of the great fire in the summer of 1887 it escaped destruction owing to the fact that it was then located at the home of Mrs. U. P. Upham. In the rebuilding period that followed after that disaster, Mr. Upham erected a building known as the Rose Block, into the upper part of which B. Elvis, the jeweller, moved his store, and the library was placed there, being under the care of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union, the members of which took turns in acting as librarian. Books were given out every Saturday afternoon. The next year Mr, Elvis moved to the building subsequently occupied by the Marshfield State Bank, and the library was also moved there, remaining at that location until the fall of 1891. During the first winter it was under the charge of Mrs. E. M. Deming. After that it was moved to the " Boy's Hall," a little building on the corner of Third Street, across from the Upham residence, where the Band of Hope, a boys' temperance society, organized by Mrs. W. H. Upham, held their meetings. It was still under the nominal care of the Woman's Christian Union, but in reality was governed by a library committee composed of Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Upham, Mrs. M. B. Cracraft and B. Elvis. About 1899 the books were transferred to the book store and bazaar of Mrs. I. P. Tiffault, the city paying her a small sum for acting as librarian. From time to time the city council was petitioned for a library building and regular financial support, but the council was then unable, or was not yet ready to extend any material aid. It was also proposed to make application to the Carnegie Library Fund, but as the necessary per centage for the yearly income could not be guaranteed, that plan had to be abandoned. In 1900, when the present city hall was built, the matter was again taken up in the council, and it was then decided to build one wing for the use of the city library, which was accordingly done, and on Oct. 21, 1901, the institution was opened to the public in new and commodious quarters, which are still occupied. A library board had been appointed May 29, that year, by Mayor Vollmar, composed of nine prominent citizens Mr. W. D. Connor being appointed president. Mr. Connor proved a great benefactor. of the library, contributing liberally to its support. The city council also now acted liberally, paying for the furniture and fixtures, as well as levying a tax to assist in the maintenance of the library and reading-room. Miss H. Della Ellinwood was appointed librarian and did splendid work in building up the popularity of the institution. On March 15, 1909, she resigned to accept an eastern position, and Miss Esther Johnston, of Indiana, was appointed to succeed her. Through Miss Johnston's influence a men's reading and smoking room was opened in the basement, the Woman's Club assisting to furnish the room, and gifts were presented to embellish it by interested board members, sums of money being received also from time to time from Marshfield residents. After serving for about a year, Miss Johnston left in May, 1910, and was succeeded as librarian by Miss Rose Schavet, who had been assistant, and who acted as librarian for about two months, when Miss Blanche Unterkircher became librarian. Miss Unterkircher left in the spring of 1913 and was succeeded by Miss Mary Egan, who served one year. Her successor was Miss Louise Grace, who also served a year, after which, in August, 1915, Miss Carol Shaw took charge. Miss Shaw remained librarian until November, 1919, at which time she was succeeded by the present librarian, Miss Alice J. Millerd, who has two assistants, Miss Selma Bartman and Miss Dorothy Drollinger. Until quite recently there was a library board of nine members, elected every three years on the rotation plan, but owing to a notification received by the board from the secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission to the effect that a city of the fourth class is only entitled to six elective members, with the superintendent of schools as an exofficio member, the necessary change has been made and the library board is now composed of seven members, including the superintendent of schools, (Chester Newlun). E. M. Deming is president, Mrs. F. A. Noll secretary, and R. P. Kraus treasurer, the other members being W. D. Connor, W. H. Kamps and Mrs. W. D. Wheeler. The number of books now in the library (Sept. 28, 1922) is 10,262 and it is constantly increasing. About 2,000 of the books now in the library are works of adult fiction. The reference books number 1538; other nonfiction 3614; children's books (total number) 3113, of which 1261 are fiction and 1852 nonfiction. The circulation for the year ending June 30, 1922, was 65,750. The library is an institution of which Marshfield citizens may well be proud, the more so as it was built up without outside assistance, except in the original donation from Mr. Marsh. Though its early supporters at times had hard work to maintain it, they never allowed it to suspend its functions, and its growth has been based on the solid ground of personal service and public spirit. As the policy of the library has ever been to reach as many people as possible, in October 1917, a station was started on the south side in the grocery store owned by L. J. Smith, for the convenience of those living in that part of the city. Another station, a small collection of books was placed in St. Joseph's Hospital for the accommodation of the patients there. The library is open daily except on Sunday, and all residents of the city and the surrounding country are entitled to draw books. Transients are allowed the same privileges as residents on furnishing satisfactory references or guarantees.  

The Fire Department--No local organization has a more interesting history than the Marshfield Fire Department, which has enjoyed an uninterrupted growth of 40 years. It is only a few of the oldest residents who can appreciate the difference between the crude fire fighting apparatus of early days and the up-to-date equipment to which the city can now point with pride. Among the original organizers of the department were T. F. Vennedom, E. C. Derby and C. B. Wharfield, the two latter drafting the original by-laws. Mr. Vennedom was chosen to preside at the first meeting which was held on the evening of May 2, 1883, in what was called the Hinman Hall, over Vennedom's general store, now Laemle's corner. R. H. Howarth was elected captain, T. F. Vennedom, assistant, and E. C. Derby, secretary and treasurer, of what was then termed the Pioneer Hose Company. The others who attended the meeting that night, according to the secretary's minutes, were: John McGivern, James Beattie, Ed. Payne, F. L. Hinman, A. Goetschius, Ed. Maurer, W. Morse, S. Reily, Frank Payne, Z. A. Canfield, J. Phillips and W. Mallaley. Charles B. Wharfield and Frank Lueckenbach joined the company April 17, 1884, and were included among the charter members. Frank Lueckenbach resigned in 1904 after serving 20 years, but Mr. Wharfield is still an active member, the only one of the original company, with the exception of Ed. Payne, who is still responding to fires. The organization will be 40 years old in May, 1923, and up to the time of this writing (Oct. 1, 1922) it has had six secretaries; E. C. Derby served from 1883 to 1886; C. B. Wharfield from 1886 to 1899; Mr. Wharfield's successor was Lacy Gwin, and after him have served O. Dorschel, Louis Carl, W. H. Kemps and the present secretary, T. S. Spaulding. The fire chiefs have been, in the order given, R. H. Howarth, L. A. Arnold, J. H. Matthes, E. E. Ames, E. A. Upham, J. A. Hoffman and E. E. Finney, the last mentioned now serving. W. A. Sexton joined the department in March, 1886, and in 1892 became treasurer, succeeding James Beattie. He was succeeded by the present treasurer, L. Hartt. In the early days the hose cart was kept in a small frame building on Chestnut Street, where Dr. Hayward's residence now stands. It was later moved to a building on the corner of Third and Maple, opposite the Methodist Church. The next move was to the old city hall, and the third to the present commodious quarters in the new hall, which stands on the same site. The great fire of 1887 was thus mentioned in the minutes of the company: "June 27, 1887, A general alarm sounded at 11:45 a.m., the company responding, fire having been discovered in the lumber yard of the Upham Manufacturing Company. After a gallant fight of seven hours the fire was gotten under control, leaving a large tract (extending over nine blocks and the mill yard) a mass of smoldering ruins." This was not the company's first experience with large fires, as one had occurred in 1883, when a row of buildings on South Depot Street (the subsequent site of the Marshfield Iron Works) went up in smoke. The next important fire was the Rivers House. In the year following the great fire, on March 23, 1888, the handsome residence owned by Fred Vollmar was burned. The company's minutes state that "owing to delay in alarm the company arrived too late to save anything more than adjacent buildings." The Marshfield Fire Department is unique in the fact that its members during the greater part of its existence, or indeed for the entire period, have been composed of some of the foremost citizens of the town, all of whom took a pride in belonging to the organization. Among them may be mentioned the following: Fred Vollmar, J. F. Cole, Geo. W. Upham, P. J. Kraus, E. C. Pors, F. R. Upham, Michael Griffin, M. J. Kraus, C. B. Arnold, J. J. Williams, Henry Horn, A. Goetschius, John L. Voelker, H. C. Headstream, Rudolph Wolleson, H. E. Hinman, John McGivern, F. L. Hinman, J. D. Lindsley, Frank A. Cady, John Penning, Frank Strong, D. F. Clarke, M. G. Fleckenstein, Chas. E. Smith, Louis LaBelle, John H. Felter, A. C. Sutor, Thos. S. Norton, J. E. Payne, Harry Heywood, Will Barnum, F. H. Ward, Henry Giese, A. S. Ledger, Philip Jacobus, Anton Wright, Anton Lueckenbach, Frank Goekey, William Springborn, Fred Wendt, William Erion, John Schneeweis, Peter Hanson, George Seubert, William Hirth, A. C. Miner, Andrew Weber, John Girk, Henry Kreisch, Aug. Furstenberg, John Clapper, J. H. Morel. Each fireman is allowed 25 cents for attending meetings and is fined 25 cents for failure to attend, the only excuses accepted being sickness of himself or some member of his family, or absence from the city. For attending fires each member receives $1.50 from the company's treasury and 50 cents from the city. A fine of 50 cents is imposed for being absent from a fire without a good excuse, Any fireman receiving injuries while on duty is allowed $10.00 a week for a period not to exceed three months; but in all the years of its existence no member of the company has received a serious injury, and only two firemen-E. C. Derby and W. A. Sexton-have died while members. The fire department receives from the insurance companies doing business in Marshfield two per cent of the gross premiums, which amounts to about $1,000 a year. Each year for the last ten years the Marshfield Fire Departmenthas given a dance on Easter Monday, which is universally recognized as "the dance of the season," being largely attended by a high class of patrons.  

The old city hall was originally a frame school building which stood on the school site on Central Avenue near the Northwestern depot, and was sold by the school district in 1889 to the city, which moved it to a location on the west side of Maple Street between Second and Third. It was then used for some ten years or more as a city hall and fire department headquarters, a tower being built in which to dry the hose pertaining to the department, which occupied the ground floor. The upper room was used for a council chamber. The building was in poor condition and was torn down to make room for the present city hall building constructed in the year 1900.  

Marshfield's police force consists of four police officers, including the chief, and one motor officer employed during the summer months. The force was placed on its present basis July 1, 1910, being governed under the commissioner system similar to that in Wisconsin Rapids, wherein a commission of five persons appointed by the mayor appoints members of the two departments and acts as a trial board under the state civil service law. The present police chief, Michael Griffin, went on the force in 1892 as a marshal, when there were but two men employed, one for day and the other for night duties. He succeeded A. F. Gerwing as chief about six years ago.

The original light and power plant in Marshfield was established by William H. Upham, the plant being operated for some time under the name of the Marshfield Electric Co., the organization of which was effected in November, 1887. In 1890 the power was furnished by two dynamos, and there were 12 arc lights in use on the streets and about 200 incandescent lights in the stores and residences. The Upham Manufacturing Co. in 1893, also furnished the water supply, three pumps being used to supply the 20 hydrants then installed. The Upham control of the light and power service lasted until 1900, when the system, as it then stood, was purchased by the city. In the meanwhile the community had grown and improvements were needed, but it was still some years before a practical method of control was established, several plans being tried without satisfactory results. At last a plan of control previously in use but abandoned, was resumed under better auspices. The governing body was to consist of a committee of three citizens, the mayor and one alderman, the citizens being elected by the council. One was elected for one year, another for two years, and the third for three, so that their terms would overlap. With this plan under way some much needed improvements were at once started. The three 150 horse power boilers previously in use, but which had deteriorated to a considerable extent, were taken out and replaced with two 300 horse-power boilers, the power house being enlarged for the purpose. This work was completed by 1921, and by Sept. 1, 1922, another boiler, of 557 horse-power, was put in. The principal improvements made two years ago consisted of the enlargement and remodeling of the plant, the building of a high draught chimney, elevated tracks and coal bunkers, all the coal being handled by machinery. The water is drawn from surface wells, in the near vicinity, there being 21 now in operation, besides a large well 78 feet deep, the pumping system being identical with that used in pumping oil wells. As this system, however, is open to the objection that fine sand is occasionally drawn into the pumps and injures the suction buckets, a more economical method of pumping is being considered and will probably be installed in the near future. As it is the plant is now established on a good basis the water works having a capacity of 550,000 gallons per day if needed, the usual average being about 500 000 gallons. This is an increase in a little more than three years from 200,000 gallons, but the demand is still growing. The electric light system now has a capacity of 650 kilowatts, which will be increased before long, as a new generator has been proposed. That the system is economical is proved by the fact that Marshfield has a ten and one half cent rate per kilowatt for light, which is a lower rate than can be found in any other city of Marshfield's size in the state. This rate, however, applies to a sliding scale, the price depending upon the amount used, and the power company has a minimum charge for both light and water, every service in both departments being now metred. The metre system, while long in use, has only been made universal within a comparatively recent date in the light department about a year ago and in the water department within the last two months, or about the latter part of July, 1922. Previously many persons and business firms were using much more light and water than they paid for. The city now has 94 arc lights; 84 ornamental lights in the business district, and seven red traffic lights for the purpose of directing car drivers, the last mentioned having been added quite recently.  

Gas is also used by the citizens of Marshfield for cooking, lighting, and heating. It is supplied by the People's Gas. Co.,which was organized in 1920, with substantial encouragement from the Marshfield Chamber of Commerce, and started service Dec. 23, of that year, having built the plant during the summer. The company is a local corporation of which A. G. Felker is president, and Henry Kalsched vice president. J. H. Vierig is superintendent and manager. The most modem machinery is in use and the plant supplies 500 consumers through 11 miles of main.  

The Marshfield telephone system was started by Theodore Springborn; a few years later A. Goetschius bought a half interest in the concern, and subsequently purchased the remainder of Mr. Springborn's interest and operated the system as sole proprietor until 1898, when a local stock company of professional and business men was formed to buy the plant and equipment. This company, known as the Marshfield Telephone Co., was dissolved in 1901 when J. C. Marsh of Marshfield bought all the stock. Mr. Marsh operated the system as individual owner until Feb. 1, 1912, when a new company was formed, which company, known as the Marshfield Telephone Exchange, has since been in control, with J. C. Marsh as president and principal stockholder. Amy E. Marsh is vice president and H. E. Hoerl secretary. The Marshfield Telephone Exchange serves the city and surrounding territory; it has 52 miles of pole line with 262 miles of aerial wires, and 1112 miles of cable carrying 1,254 miles of wire. Jan. 1, 1922, there were 797 miles of working lines and 1,404 telephones. The average number of exchange messages handled per month is 166,740, and of toll messages 5,400.  

The Marshfield post office is of the first class and has seven rural routes serving approximately 1,100 families. There are six city letter carriers and seven clerks. The city, being a junction of several roads, is a very important transfer point for mail and the office has for years enjoyed a steady increase in its receipts. On Jan. 1, 1923, it will occupy new quarters, now being prepared, which will be almost twice as large as those occupied at present. Among the postmasters of Marshfield, in addition to Louis Rivers and E. S. Renne, elsewhere mentioned, have been A. G. Pankow, now of Milwaukee, E. A. Upham, now with the Marshfield Lumber Co., and John F. Cole, attorney, of Marshfield. On July 1, 1920, Fred B. Rhyner was appointed acting postmaster and on Nov. 9, 1922, was commissioned postmaster for a term of four years.  

On the north side of the city there is a wooded piece of land called Columbia Park and which is used as an occasional pleasure ground, though its scenic advantages are somewhat marred by the large standpipe erected here. Away out on the south side is another strip of woods, also used for park purposes, and where some bears are kept. It was formerly known as White City Park, though the name seems to have fallen somewhat out of general use. Near it is a small pond and close by are the waterworks, beyond which is another fine strip of woods wherein one may walk on the brightest summer day in a subdued and softened light, as through cathedral aisles, the numerous trunks, branches and dense foliage cutting off the direct rays of the sun, There is yet another piece of property owned by the city, on Park Avenue, which is eventually to be developed into a park.  

St. Joseph Hospital, Marshfield, Wisconsin

St. Joseph's Hospital, one of the most important institutions in Wood County, was established in 1890 and was incorporated in the year 1891, under the laws of Wisconsin, by the Sisters of the Sorrowful Mother. The original building was erected during the year 1891, located on the northwest city limits and overlooking a beautiful section of Wisconsin. The hospital was formerly opened as a hydrotherapy sanitarium in 1892. At that time there were four sisters in charge and during the first year four patients were admitted. In 1895 the institution was changed from a sanitarium to a general hospital and in 1896 the number of sisters was increased to 16, and 69 patients were cared for. During the year 1901 the chapel and six rooms were added and 163 patients were admitted to the hospital. St. Mary's Convent was erected in 1907. Three hundred and twenty-six patients were admitted to the hospital during the year 1909 and it was during that year that the northwest wing was added. This addition increased the number of rooms available for patients and added a new operating room, two surgical dressing rooms, and recovery rooms. Nearly all the of private rooms in this addition were furnished by friends of the sisters. During the year 1913 the hospital admitted 795 patients. That year the third story was added to the original building, which provided a good sized class room and a large outdoor sleeping porch and a number of private rooms. The new Nurses' Home, which was built in 1922, situated on St. Joseph's Street, is the best and, it is said, the most beautiful in the state of Wisconsin. It is a plain but stately three story brick building, 42 by 132 feet in ground dimensions, and is so located that the sun has free access to all rooms. In the year 1917 1,281 patients were cared for in this institution. It was during that year that the last and beautiful addition to the hospital was started, it being completed in 1918. This addition is the main building at present and is modern in every detail. It added to the hospital many comfortable rooms, sun parlors, and up to date maternity department, X-ray, chemical, pathological, bacteriological, electro-cardiographic and metobolic laboratories, photographic, hydrotherapeutic and electrotherapeutic rooms, a laundry and power house. An isolation department was also erected in which, during the year 1920, 136 patients afflicted with communicable, or so called contagious diseases, were cared for. At present the institution has a capacity of 130 beds. During the past year, 1921, the hospital cared for 2,520 patients, classified as follows: Surgical cases, 1,231; medical cases, 881; obstetrical cases, 122; babies, 115; communicable diseases, 51; out patients, 120.  

The growth of the institution may be seen from the number of patients admitted since it was established in 1891; In 1892-4; 1893-122; 1894-159; 1895-98; 1896-69; 1897-67; 1898-84; 1899-53; 1900-122; 1901-163; 1902-169; 1903-178; 1904-179; 1905-226; 1906-276; 1907-335; 1908-353; 1909-326; 1910-368; 1911-479; 1912-672; 1913-795; 1914-766; 1915-905; 1916-1,050; 1917-1,281; 1918-1,633; 1919-1,777; 1920-2,128; 1921-2,520.  

The following figures apply to the year 1921. In those pertaining to the ages of patients, those from 60 to 70 have not been ascertained. Those concerning the religion and nationality of patients do not include out-patients. Ages of patients-Under ten years, 405; 10 to 20, 395; 20 to 30, 607; 30 to 40, 367; 40 to 50, 244; 50 to 60, 176; 60 to 70, 139; over 80, 11. Nationality of patients-American, 2,265; Austrian, 2; Bohemian, 7; Danish, 1; English, 1; French, 1; German, 78; Dutch (Holland), 2; Hungarian, 2; Indian, 2; Irish, 1; Norwegian, 7; Polish, 7; Russian, 10; Swedish, 10; Swiss, 2. Religion of patients-Baptist, 48; Catholic, 875; Congregational, 30; Christian Science, 2; Church of Christ, 9; Episcopalian, 33; Evangelican, 26; Hebrew, 5; Lutheran, 589; Methodist, 199; Moravian, 3; None, 354; Presbyterian, 203; Reformed, 14; Salvation Army, 1; Seventh Day Adventists, 6; United Brethren, 3. Out of a total of 2,403 of the patients admitted, 2,373 were from Wisconsin, the others coming from 12 different states ranging from Pennsylvania to New Mexico. The number of deaths was 110; autopsies, 33. Of the in-patients 1,136 were male and 1,264 female.  

Another important institution of Marshfield is the Marshfield Clinic, which was organized in October, 1916, with Drs. K. W. Doege, H. H. Milbee, V. A. Mason, R. P. Potter, William Hipke and W. G. Sexton as members. It was incorporated under the laws of the state of Wisconsin and started business on Jan. 1, 1917. Since the date of organization Drs. K. H. Doege, H. A. Vedder and J. B. Vedder have become members of the corporation. Drs. F. E. Turgasen and Lyman A. Copps have been with the Clinic for three years but are not members of the corporation. The general plan of organization was to furnish a means of accurate diagnosis and by having the doctors in one group allowing each man to specialize in separate fields, thus becoming more efficient in his special line, and all, occupying the same offices, being able to have frequent consultations on any case that demanded it. The arrangement is as follows: Drs. K. W. Doege, V. A. Mason and H. A. Vedder, doing general surgery; Dr. K. W. Doege doing mainly stomach and goitre work, Dr. V. A. Mason mainly brain and bone surgery, and Dr. H. A. Vedder mainly gynecological work; Dr. Wm. Hipke and Dr. Lyman A. Copps doing eye, ear, nose and throat work; Drs. H. H. Milbee and F. E. Turgasen specializing in internal medicine and Dr. J. B. Vedder in pediatrics and obstetrics; Dr. R. P. Potter in X-Ray and Dr. K. H. Doege in internal medicine and radium, and Dr. W. G. Sexton in urology. The office is equipped with an operating room for minor surgical operations and accident work, no patients being treated therein for any but minor ailments, none in fact who cannot return immediately to their homes.

The office of the Clinic comprises the second floor of two buildings, one being 150 by 44 feet and the other 60 by 22 feet, the two buildings being connected by a corridor. There are 35 rooms in all, divided into individual offices and examining rooms, X-Ray laboratory, dressing room, chemical laboratory, electrotheropeutic room, library, general offices, and reception room. The space was rented and entirely remodeled at the expense of the Clinic to suit its needs. During the year 1921, 20,566 patients were examined and treated in the office. There are a manager and five girls employed to handle the general office work, three graduate nurses are in constant attendance, one laboratory technician and one X-Ray technician. The Clinic is equipped with every sort of apparatus and appliance for making an accurate diagnosis so that any type of case may be handled expeditiously. The bookkeeping is handled with a Burroughs posting machine. The Marshfield Clinic was the first organization of its type to be formed in this section, but since its organization clinics have been formed all over the United States. Through the close co-operation of the doctors, and with the extensive equipment, patients are able to receive accurate diagnosis and practically never have to go out of the city for medical advice. The present officers of the institution are: Dr. K. W. Doege, F. A. C. S., president; Dr. H. H. Milbee, vice president; Dr. V. A. Mason, secretary, and Dr. J. B. Vedder, treasurer.

War Work.--During the participation of the United States in the World War, the great majority of the people of Marshfield and the towns and villages in the northern part of the county vied in patriotism, self-sacrifice and personal service with those elsewhere. W. D. Cononr of Marshfield was chairman of the County Council of Defense, and E. C. Pors, also of Marshfield, was food administrator for the entire county. For the Northern District of the county, E. C. Pors was chairman for the Second and Third Liberty Loan Drives, R. P. Kraus for the Fourth drive, and Albert G. Felker for the Fifth. Dr. William Hipke, of Marshfield, was chairman of the Red Cross for the Northern District.  

During the Second Loan drive a number of business men of Marshfield and the vicinity formed an association called the Business Men's Patriotic Club, which averaged about 60 regular members. This club rendered good service in various ways. All war drives were discussed and the most practical measures to secure success were adopted. Among them, it was arranged to give a series of lunches, one every Thursday noon, a price of 50 cents a head being charged. During the Red Cross drive that society had charge of the dining room and all profits were turned over to it.

This plan of raising money proved so successful that it was adopted by other communities, including Wisconsin Rapids.

At one of these lunches, which was held at the Eagle's Hall, during the Second Liberty Loan drive, over $66,000 worth of Liberty Bonds were sold in ten minutes. On this occasion Leo Rose, one of the club members, offered to raise his subscription $5,000 if R. J. Spaulding, another member, would jump into a swimming tank on the premises with his clothes on, and the latter immediately took the plunge with the financial benefit to the cause above mentioned. During the same drive the club got out a "Liberty Loan Chaser," which was a four page paper containing information and interesting incidents connected with the drive, and that week a daily lunch was held to help the drive.

On June 8, 1917, a meeting of all interested in organizing a Marshfield chapter of the American Red Cross was called, and was held at the Eagle's Hall, with Dr. William Hipke as chairman, Mrs. W. D. Connor vice chairman, C. B. Edwards treasurer, and Mary Sexton secretary. The citizens so assembled acted in the affirmative on the question, and it was resolved to take the necessary steps to bring the chapter into being. After the organization was complete the main hall of the City Hall building was adopted as headquarters and served as such until 1920, when a suite of offices on the second floor of this building was rented. Great good has been accomplished by this organization. March 1, 1920, a public health nurse was elected, and Jan. 1, 1921, a free child welfare clinic was organized, which met Tuesdays and Saturdays each week until Oct. 1, 1922, when the Saturday meeting was discontinued. This clinic, which has been from the first under the supervision of Dr. James Vetter, has done work patterned after that carried on by similar institutions in the larger cities, and has rendered a very great service. The work of the Home Service section, of which Miss Elizabeth Dunham as secretary has been the active head, has also been very valuable, but is now practically suspended, its functions having been taken over by the Americam Legion. The present officers of the chapter are: Rev. Fred J. Jordan, president; C. B. Edwards, treasurer; and committee members as follows: E. C. Pors, Dr. James Vetter, Dr. W. G. Sexton, Mrs. W. D. Connor, Mrs. R. C. Hastings, Mrs. Frank Noll, Mrs. Anna Lathrop, Mrs. V. A. Mason, Father H. J. Stehling, Dr. J. C. Hayward, Prof. Chester Newlun, Mrs. T. Tuschner, and Mrs. Oscar Lange.

The following facts relating to the history of Company A, 127th Infantry, 64th Brigade, 32d Division, are taken from a pamphlet that was printed by the Marshfield Herald press:

"After the Spanish-American War the company was reformed at Marshfield under state militia regulations. In June, 1916, as Company A, 2d Regiment, W. N. G., it entrained for Mexican border service, at that time consisting of three officers and 89 enlisted men. The company went into camp at San Antonio, where it remained until February, 1917. It was mustered out Feb. 17, 1917.  

"Company A was called together for World War service July 15, 1917, at Marshfield, and went to Camp Douglas to respond to the order for mobilization of the Wisconsin National Guard. From there with Company L, as a part of the 2d Battalion, it was sent to Camp McArthur at Waco, Texas, the regiment being drafted into the Federal service as the 127th U. S. Infantry, and receiving a large number of men from the 6th Wisconsin, who had enlisted at Marshfield. On Jan. 21, 1918, the company left camp with the 32d Division en route for Camp Merritt, N. J. On Feb. 15 it embarked at New York on the U. S. S. George Washington, leaving behind 87 men because of an epidemic of mumps. The ship sailed at 10:30 p. m., Feb. 18, and arrived at Brest 3:30 p. m., March 4. After spending some time in a rest camp, the members of Company A were attached in March to a labor battalion at St. Sulpice, and worked there until April 5 building warehouses, etc. The company then went to Courselles to train. On May 14 left Courcelles and went to the Schonholz Sector, going in June 9, coming out June 21, having had one member killed and five wounded. On July 23, entrained at Novillars, detrained at Chauteau Thierry, marched to Blemes, arriving July 28. Here the 127th Infantry bivouacked in near by woods. On July 29, at 4:45 p.m. were ordered into lines; 5:00 a. m. July 30 were in line at Roncheres, the 32d taking over the work of the 3d. Company A made its first attack at daybreak July 31. Plowed through a heavy fire; reached Cierges Aug. 1, Cohen Aug. 2, then Dravegny Aug. 4. Was on the important engagement resulting in the capture of Fismes on the river Vesle. The 127th was relieved August 5 and went into "pup" tents at Vezilly Woods, spending several days there. From Roncheres to Fismes Company A had one officer killed and 118 enlisted men killed or wounded. It was next on the Juvigny front where the fighting was very hot. The company was held in reserve while the rest of the 127th went into line August 28. On Sept. 1 Company A went in, and went on through Juvigny; stayed in line until Sept. 4 and was then drawn back to Bruizzy. Left there Sept. 7; camped in pup tents in large woods about five kilos northeast of the village of Pierrefonds. Left the woods Sept. 9; entrained at Ourrouy same night; detrained Sept. 10 at Curel. In the Juvigny engagement the company had one man killed and 23 wounded. Rested. The Meuse-Argonne offensive was launched Sept. 26. The Division moved up. Company A left Curel Sept. 22, went to Fleury, arriving Sept. 23. The 32d was held in reserve. On Oct. 3 Company A went into line near Gesnes; Oct. 5 went into support. Oct. 9 to Oct. 24 was in line 16 days of attacking; short rations, lying in mud and chasing the Boche. On the 24th reserve. Nov. 8 to Brulles; went into line west of Brehville. Hard fighting. Had orders to attack at 7:00 a. m. Nov. 11, but at 6:45 a. m. a message came that the armistice was signed. In the Meuse-Argonne offensive the company had three officers killed in action and one wounded, and 108 enlisted men killed and wounded. The company then served with the Army of Occupation in Germany, being most of the time at Herschbach, the "hike" to the Rhine taking from Nov. 17 to Dec. 11. April 18, 1919, started for home.

Embarked April 24 on the U. S. S. Cape Finisterre, a German vessel that had been taken by the United States as spoils of war. Arrived in New York harbor May 5, then to Camp Merritt, N. J. On May 14 started for Camp Grant, Illinois. Sixty three men were ready, but typhoid epidemic put 28 in quarantine, leaving 35. Arrived at Camp Grant, Rockford, Ill., May 16; discharged May 17; arrived in Company A was in Germany five months. The total number of its members who were killed in action or died of wounds included 4 officers and 45 men; total wounded in action, 5 officers and 219 men.

Sergeant William D. Purdy had charge of a patrol which just returned from No Man's Land, and had lined up the men for inspection as to disposing of their hand grenades. After the inspection he took grenades from his own pocket and in so doing accidentally pulled the pin of one of the three, and as the cap that discharges the grenades exploded Sergt. Purdy looked hastily in all directions to see whether he could throw them away without injury to some of his comrades. Seeing that this could not be done without loss of life he warned them and holding the three grenades in his hands, bent over them. The explosion which followed a few seconds later killed Sergt. Purdy instantly and wounded Corporal Sweating of the Scout Platoon and Privates Kennedy and Hill of Company A. For this heroic deed Sergt. Purdy was awarded the distinguished service cross, which was sent to his mother at Marshfield.  

Cook Leo Kick, while in action on the Soissons front, received a severe shrapnel wound in the arm while cooking for the company, which was then in reserve. The dinner which Cook Kick was preparing was ready to be taken from the field oven when the accident occurred, and although the wound inflicted was very painful, he stayed at the kitchen, kept the beans from burning and thus saved the dinner for the men. Cook Kick was recommended for his gallantry and received the Croix de Guerre from the French government while with the Army of Occupation in Germany.

Marshfield furnished Company A and Company K and the regimental band. Company K was formed from the overflow of Company A, but was broken up at Waco, Texas, the men being assigned to different units. Some Marshfield men were on the Tuscania, which was torpedoed off the coast of Ireland. The William J. Lesselyong Post No. 54, American Legion, was started at Marshfield in May, 1919, and now has about 200 members. Meetings are held the first Friday in each month in the club rooms of the Knights of Columbus. The post was named in honor of William J. Lesselyong, who, born and brought up in Marshfield, was the first to lose his life among the gallant soldiers this city sent to take their part in the World War.

In 1920 the city of Marshfield donated to the American Legion a lot 56 by 112 feet in size as a burial ground for soldiers of the late war. A granite memorial tablet has been erected there which bears this inscription:


This is accompanied by the Honor Roll of men from Marshfield and the vicinity who died in the service during the war. They are as follows: George Arnett, William Arnett, Louis Binder, Frank Boyer, Frederick W. Breseman, Ray Firnstahl, John A. Fischer, Louis Fleisner, Fred H. Hintz, Harold E. Jaeckel, Louis Kelnhofer, Otto H. Kops, Floyd M. Laird, William Lee, William J. Lesselyong, Leo Lutz, Louis A. Mangold, Jos. C. Marsh, Jr., Harold Mattson, Mike J. Miller, Ernest G. Miller, Frank J. Mueller, Emil Oertel, Harry M. Palmer, Edward J. Parks, W. Simon Petri, Joseph Ponczoch, Willard D. Purdy, William J. Riethus, Henry Schielz, George A. Schiesl, Edward Schultz, Paul H. Schultz, Louis A. Seidl, Barney Skaya, Walter H. Soles, Joseph Stangl, Cecil G. Tormey, Nick Trierweiler, Wesley C. Van Voorheis, Everett L. Varney, Henry Wallis, Nick A. Weigel, Louis Wellner, Cooper D. Wells, Geo. W. Whitney, Ray Winch, Franklin Wood, Ivo E. Wright and Herbert Yaeger.

The movement for a Soldiers' Memorial in Marshfield was started by A. G. Felker of the Rotary Club, and a committee was appointed composed of members of the Club and of the American Legion to raise the necessary amount of money. This committee collected about $1,400, after which the matter was turned over to Dr. W. G. Sexton, who brought the total up to $2,200.

The monument, which is three sided, stands on a double base in the center of the "field," and measures 6 feet, 4 inches from the bottom of the base to the base of the flagstaff by which it is surmounted, the flagstaff being 75 feet from the base to the top. The lower part of the base is circular in form, the upper part triangular with beveled corners. The rectangular field coincides closely with the four principal points of the compass and is crossed by two paths, one running north and south and the other east and west, by which the monument can be approached from any side, there being a path around the base or pedestal, and outside that a circle of rose beds. On the west half of the field are rose beds, one in each quarter section, with a flower bed extending across the west end, while in the east half there are now the graves of seven soldiers who died after returning from the war. The entire field is surrounded by a chain fence, with posts of Bedford stone, supplied by Louis Schmidt of Marshfield, while the monument is the work of the Flower City Ornamental Iron Company of Minneapolis. The following account of the ceremonies connected with the dedication of this memorial, which took place on Armistice Day, Nov. 11, 1922, is taken from a local newspaper: "At Flander's Field at the Hillside Cemetery, members of the American Legion, city band, local guards and the Gold Star mothers and fathers assembled within the marked space of that field, set off from the remainder of the grounds by chains fastened to concrete posts. The program, presided over by Commander Fred B. Rhyner of the American Legion, began with the raising of the colors by a marine, sailor and an infantryman. Rev. H. J. Stehling read a prayer, after which heads were bowed in silence for 30 seconds in honor and memory of the heroic dead. With an appropriate address befitting the occasion, Atty. E. C. Pors presented to the citizens of Marshfield the new monument, disclosed its beauty to the citizens for the first time. The monument is an artistic piece of work, and with its bronze inlaid decorations forms a pleasing sight. Set in the granite base, a flagstaff towers upward a distance of about 76 feet, at the top of which waves the flag. The base is triangular shape, and has a bronze tablet erected on one side bearing the Marshfield Honor Roll. Dr. W. G. Sexton for the Legion responded to the presentation. Conrade F. Ryan Duffy, State Commander of the American Legion, Wisconsin District, delivered the principal address of the occasion, dedicating the new monument. Comrade Duffy is a forceful speaker and has a deep significance of things patriotic and military, gathered from his wide experience of the World War, as was evidenced from his appreciated talk to a large sized audience, in which he cited some of the things for which the American Legion is working, including aid for the crippled and sick buddies who took part in the world conflict. His talk was concluded with a few words of appreciation extended to Marshfield people. The program was concluded with the rendition of the National Anthem and benediction of Rev. H. J. Stehling."  

The present National Guard organization at Marshfield is Company C of the 128th Infantry, W. N. G. It was organized in the fall of 1919 as the 15th Separate Company, and on returning from camp in 1920 was attached to the 128th Infantry and given its present designation. The present officers are: Captain, John Kohl; first lieutenant, Martin Wirkus; and second lieutenant, George Goodin. The armory, situated on West Second Street, is rented by the state, and is excellently adapted to the use of the organization.  

James G. Blaine Post, No. 110, of the Grand Army of the Republic, was established by a charter dated Oct. 23, 1883, and had as charter members the following: William H. Upham, O. R. Olin, Daniel Shahan, L. D. Wood, S. H. Phillips, David Walterbach, J. C. Davis, William Bartel, H. G. Harrower, C. B. Wood, O. F. Harkinss, R. W. Franklin, George Schmall, John Clous, Abe Kantz, Jacob Becker, Christian Gukenberger, Charles Schue, George Seibert, Christian Jacobs, David Twiggs, Frank Gotschus, Willis Graves, and E. G. Schmidt. William H. Upham was the first commander. The Post holds regular meetings in the Upham Hall, above Mr. Upham's office; James H. Sinclair is the present commander, and W. G. Hinman the adjutant and quartermaster. The present membership is as follows: William Blocksage, James H. Sinclair, Christian Guckenberger, Ed. Dumas, Frank Miller, W. G. Hinman, H. L. Brooks, W. H. Upham, George K. Redmond, George W. Trogner, and Mathias M. Wells.  

Camp No. 39, Spanish-American War Veterans, was established Aug. 26, 1917, with 22 members, which number remains unchanged. C. H. Bulgrin was the first Commander and was succeeded in 1919 by the present commander, Marcus A. Hensen.  

The organization of Boy Scouts at Marshfield, after some years of active life, is now temporarily suspended. Plans are on foot, however, to reorganize the company in the near future. The Masonic Order is represented in Marshfield by a Blue Lodge, a Masonic 'Chapter, and an Eastern Star Chapter, all of which have been very successful. Beautifully appointed lodge rooms are maintained on the third floor of the post office building.  

Marshfield Lodge No. 224, A. F. & A. M., was established in November, 1882, its original officers and members being: H. A. Lathrop, W. M.; Eli E. Winch, S. W.; Charles H. Clark, J. W.; John Dent, Sec.; W. G. Hinman, Treas.; Freland Marshall, S. D.; Emil Kaudy, Jr. Dea.; Benjamin Buck, Tyler; and Jerome Kingsbury. The lodge now has about 180 members. It is interesting to note that of its charter mambers only three are living today, these being Freeland Marshall, now of British Columbia, W. G. Hinman, and E. E. Winch, of Marshfield. Marshfield Chapter, No. 78, R. A. M., was established by a letter of dispensation dated May 26, 1902, and was granted a warrant of constitution Feb. 18, 1903. Its first officers were: H. A. Lathrop, M. E.; E. E. Winch, E. King; and E. T. Ellsworth, E. S. Its first membership included a number who previously were members of Neilsville Chapter No. 66. The Marshfield Chapter now has 79 members.  

Everett Chapter No. 95, Order of the Eastern Star, at Marshfield, was issued a dispensation Dec. 23, 1896, and a charter Feb. 17, 1897. Alice Ferguson was the first Worthy Matron, H. G. Andress Worthy Patron, and Anna Bayless Worthy Assistant Matron. The last named is now Mrs. Anna Bouldrie and with her husband occupies rooms at the W. G. Hinman residence, 108 South Vine Street, Marshfield. Marshfield Lodge No. 110, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was established on a charter granted June 6, 1889, listing the following charter members: Thomas J. Norton, John F. Cole, Thomas Thompson, C. S. Vedder, T. R. Reily, C. B. Arnold, K. Thompson, and George Ingalls. There are now 124 members and meetings are held regularly in the lodge rooms known as the Odd Fellows' Hall. Marshfield Encampment No. 66, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was established with charter dated Oct. 11, 1905, and listing 15 charter members; there are now about 48 members of this encampment.  

Canton Centropolis No. 21 of the I. O. O. F. Canton of Patriarchs Militant was mustered in at Marshfield Dec. 15, 1911, by Col. William Crowhurst. Eighteen members are listed on its warrant, which is dated Jan. 6, 1912.

Hub Rebekah Lodge No. 158 was instituted June 2, 1897, with six charter members.

Lodge No. 665 of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks was founded in 1901 and a charter was issued to it on July 25 of that year; the petitioners were: H. A. Lathrop, John P. Hume, I. P. Tiffault, John F. Cole, T. E. Lyons, C. L. Reese, A. L. Bouldrie, W. H. Lind, O. G. Lindemann, E. Rosenbaum, and C. H. Grundy. Besides these, 25 other charter members are listed. There are now about 308 members. A fine brick building for use as a meeting place and recreation rooms, located at 115 East Second Street, was purchased about the year 1913. Badger Aerie No. 624, Fraternal Order of Eagles, was started in 1904, its charter being dated May 1, 1904. There were 50 charter members. In 1916 a beautifully arranged two-story brick building was erected at 111 East Second Street, and was equipped with billiard tables and other suitable appointments, making a fine club house. The Aerie now has 342 members.

Nest No. 1076 of the Owls was formed at Marshfield with a charter dated May 16, 1915. Starting with 12 charter members, remarkable progress has been made in building up. the membership and it is now approaching the 500 mark. A Degree of Distinguished Service was granted the Marshfield branch by the head quarters of the lodge, Nov. 8, 1920. Regular meetings are held in the Harti Building, on West Second Street.

Pine Tree Camp No. 1342 of the Modern Woodmen of America was granted a charter Jan. 20, 1896, the charter bearing the names of ten original members. The lodge has had a very successful career and now has 220 members. Mayflower Camp of the Royal Neighbors of America was started in 1898 with 32 charter members, and is still in active existence.

John Eisen Council No. 1799 of the Knights of Columbus held its first initiation May 16, 1915, and a charter was granted on the same date. Starting with 39 charter members, the lodge now has a membership of about 200. In 1920 the brick building on South Central Avenue formerly operated as a store by G. R. Gustafson was purchased and turned into a very satisfactory club-house. The Catholic Order of Foresters is represented by St. John Court No. 506, which was instituted May 18, 1895, and St. Mary Court No. 194 of the Women's Catholic Order of Foresters, instituted Nov. 4, 1897. The St. John Court now has about 200 members; its charter lists eight original members.

The Knights of Wisconsin have two branches at Marshfield; Branch No. 74 was formed on a dispensation dated June 20, 1887 and listing twelve charter members, this branch now has about 225 members. Branch No. 290 started in November of 1921 with about 102 charter members and has since added about six new members.  

The Beavers Reserve Fund Fraternity established Marshfield Colony No. 252 on Dec. 28, 1903; there were nine charter members.

Railway City Council No. 189 of the Order of United Commercial Travelers, started June 14, 1902 with eighteen charter members, has had a very flourishing career. With it is affiliated by associate membership a branch of the Gideons, otherwise known as the Christian Commercial Travelers Association of America, which established this associate membership in 1921.

Snowflake Lodge No. 415 of the Mystic Workers of the World was established at Marshfield with charter dated April 13, 1914, and is still in active existence. The Equitable Fraternal Union formed Marshfield Assembly No. 34 on June 15, 1898, with six charter members; the assembly has had a successful career. The Fraternal Reserve Association Lodge No. 66, is in active existence, as are a number of other organizations not named above, including St. Joseph Society, Maennerchoir, etc.; and a number of other lodges and societies have flourished in the past but are not at present holding regular meetings, this group including the Woodmen of the World and the Knights of Pythias.

The Marshfield Country Club was organized and incorporated in August, 1922, the membership being limited to one hundred. The club has beautiful grounds covering 45 acres, and lying two miles west of the city on the Bakerville road. The club will open its first season in 1923, by which time the club house will be completed. The present officers are: Alfred Neumann, president; E. C. Pors, vice president; and Adolph Kleinheinz, secretary and treasurer. The directors are C. E. Blodgett, G. D. Booth, Hugo Wegener, Ernest Zeidler, Louis Hartl and J. P. Deming.

The Marshfield Woman's Club, an organization now including about 115 of the best known ladies in the city, was organized as the Ladies' Travel Class in 1893. According to the recollection of some of the early members who are still residing here, those who took an active part in the organization were Mrs. E. T. Ellsworth, Mrs. E. B. Pulling, Mrs. H. A. Lathrop, Miss Ella Kelley, Mrs. Fred Vollmar, Mrs. I. P. Tiffault, Miss Margaret Livingston, Mrs. J. C. Hayward, Mrs. W. H. Roddis, Mrs. B. Elvis and Mrs. W. A. Sexton. Courses of study were planned and systematically pursued by the members along various educational lines, including geography, history, political economy, literature, the drama, art and music; and this self culture has since been continued, in addition to which, for the last ten years or so, the club has devoted a part of its time and collective energy to civic work, including the establishment and supervision of parks, playgrounds, garbage disposal, etc. For the better understanding of these matters, and to stimulate action thereon, the members, or specially appointed committees, attend council meetings. The club assumed its present name in 1910. The officers in 1922 are: Mrs. Robert Connor, president; Mrs. V. A. Mason, vice president; Mrs. J. H. Cundy, secretary, and Mrs. H. H. McCain, treasurer.

The Helping Hand Society was founded many years ago, the chief promoter being Mrs. E. T. Ellsworth. As indicated by its name, it is a charitable society, and is also non-sectarian, numbering among its members women of various religious creeds who work harmoniously together in relieving suffering and helping the needy. The society gives a charity ball every year, and from time to time other entertainments, the money thus raised being devoted entirely to charitable purposes.  

The Fortnightly Musical Club, of Marshfield, was organized Feb. 8, 1904, the first meeting being held at the residence of Mrs. George Reynolds. Mrs. Samuels, who was the first president, after serving about two months, moved away from the city, and was succeeded as president by Mrs. Reynolds. At the first meeting ten ladies became members, namely: Mrs. George Reynolds, Mrs. Samuels, Mrs. E. B. Pulling, Mrs. E. S. Bailey, Mrs. James Vaughan, Mrs. Ed. Hahn, Miss Gertrude Winch, Miss Carola Forest, Miss Ethel Dunlap and Mrs. Arlie Hinman. It was decided to limit the charter membership to twenty and the complete number was made up at the next meeting, the other ten members being: Miss Birdine Brown, Miss Vera Vollmar, Miss Olivia Hehn, Mrs. H. B. Dale, Miss Jessica McFarland, Mrs. Robert Connor, Mrs. W. D. Wheeler, Mrs. Hiram Below, Miss Beatrice Kraus and Miss Bessie Hutchinson. The club gives two public musicals each year, the regular meetings being held at the homes of the members.

Marshfield Chapter No. 843 of the Daughters of the American Revolution was organized largely through the efforts of Mrs. Julia Cracroft Hume. It held its first meeting Feb. 22, 1908, at which time Mrs. Hume was appointed regent, Mrs. Elsie Upham Finney vice regent, Mrs. Ella M. Deming secretary, Mrs. Georgia Whitman Hinman treasurer, Mrs. Mell Elsworth Pollard registrar, Miss Clara Morse Mason historian, Mrs. Mary Morse Elvis chaplain, and Mrs. Hattie E. Pors chairman of the program committee. The organization had twelve charter members, as follows: Mrs. Julia Cracroft Hume, Mrs. Ella M. Deming, Mrs. Georgia Whitman Hinman, Mrs. Elsie Upham Finney, Mrs. Mell Elsworth Polllard, Miss Clara Morse Mason, Mrs. Mary Morse Elvis, Mrs. Hattie E. Pors, Miss Carrie Morrison, Mrs. Mary Witter Connor, Miss Helen Connor, and Mrs. Arletta Poad. There are now 43 members, 26 of whom reside in Marshfield, and regular meetings are held at the homes of the members.  

The Wisconsin Blue Book gives the population of Marshfield in 1920 as 7394, divided by wards as follows: Ward 1-1480; Ward 2-593; Ward 3-1261; Ward 4-2009; Ward 5-1053, and Ward 6-998. By the never tiring efforts of the citizens to grow shade trees and improve the looks of their premises the city has greatly improved in appearance. The streets and avenues in general are wide, Central Avenue, the main business thoroughfare being particularly so, equaling in that respect some of the best thoroughfares in the great cities, and the blocks are all laid out at right angles. An account of the annual fair held in Marshfield by the Wisconsin Central State Fair Association may be found in the chapter on the Agricultural Interests.  


[Wood Co., Wis. Biographies]  [Wood Co., Wis. Main Page]