Sherman Township Maps


Clark County, Wisconsin


Surveying Clark County (1842-1856)

First Owners Plat Maps


New Plat Map Project

Because there is so little genealogical data available for sparsely populated townships, we would like to provide the information offered by plat maps. Our first two sets were contributed by Alice Braun. We need volunteers to transcribe each map so the surnames can be indexed on our search engines. If you can help by typing this information for us or have maps to contribute to the project, please contact  Todd concerning the township and year you would like to transcribe. Because of copyright laws, we will not be able to display the actual maps which were produced after 1926 unless you are able to obtain permission for us to do so.

Clark County, WI Internet Library Map Collection

County Map (shows all the townships)

First Owners Plat Map--Sherman Township

1880 Plat Map

1893 Plat Map--Contributed by Alice Braun

1905 Plat Map--By George. A. Ogle & Co., Chicago, IL (Contributed by Greenwood Public Library).

1915 Plat Map & Supplement for Unlisted Property Owners--An extremely rare map contributed by the Thorp Area Historical Society.

1920 Plat Map--Origin unknown.

1921 Plat Map--Origin unknown.

1926 Plat Map--By Standard Map Co., Chicago, IL (Contributed by Paulette Strey).

1938 Plat Map--Standard Map Co, Chicago, IL *Can't be displayed because of Copyright restrictions and the date of this map is uncertain but it has been determined to be after 1936, but before 1940. (Contributed by Owen Haigh).

1956 Plat Map--By Rockford Map Publishers *Can't be displayed because of Copyright restrictions. (Contributed by Alice Braun)

1964 Plat Map--By Rockford Map Publishers *Can't be displayed because of Copyright restrictions. (Contributed by Alice Braun)

1926 PROPERTY OWNERS, Transcribed by Beverly Rauworth.

* indicates name crossed over into another section


Section  1Jno Owen Lbr. Co., E. Rust, F.L. Doyle, State land, H.G. Siemers, Wm. Marschke, F. L. Doyle, Fred Oelrich, F. H. Putnam

*Ed Darthow (hard to read) (1 & 12 )


Section  2F. L. Doyle, Leo Hein, S. Y. Hyde Land Co., Jno Schoolman, Earl Truax, John Schoolman, Wm. Hubert


Section  3:  H. F. Seefeldt, E. J. Freeman, E.S. McVean, Geo. Cool,  L. Blaubauch, Milton Bombard, Nettie Truax, Geo. Cool, Martin Engel


Section  4Elmer McVean, Elmer McVean, Ellen Breed, S. Dike, E.G. McVean,  John LaBarge, Alfred Destreich, J.J. Brennan, A. Weyhemiller


Section  5:  E.G. VanVean, Fred LaBarge, C.H. Hall, Chas. W. Arquette, G. H. Voight, Adolph Destreich, Eilen Breed


Section  6:  C. H. Hall, Riplinger & Sons, Henry Capelle


Section  7:   J. Lindekugel, E. E. Coon, P. A. Mayer, B.A. Giese, Ted Lindekugel, H. Lemke, Wm. Catlin, E. Pryor


Section  8:  O.B. Lindekugel, Wm. Catlin, Catlin Sch., T.D. Giesler, Fred Strege, H. Bruss, Gus Haslow, Chs. Giloy, Phil Kissinger


Section  9:  Taft School , J. W. Pengilly, A. Fouriner, Ged Weyhemiller, Geo. Wachholz


Section 10:  C.A. Blaubach, Ed Pageldorf, E. Busse, Albert Schultz, E. Busse, E. Busse, J.A. GrothJost Maiti*( Sec. 10&11), Henry Facklam 


Section 11:  Ernest Riske, Chas. Stroltenow, Otto Prechel, Bert Flint, Harry DeGraw, Joseph Redig


Section 12:  Wm Buhrow, L. Dagart, Mrs. L(?). Sexton, Ed Buhrow, Frank Young, Myron Rue, F.D. Lineweaver, Chas. Haslow 


Section 13:  John Davel, G.R. Wolter, Frank Young, Mrs. G.I. Follett * (sec 13 & 12), Wm. Fisher, Alex Seinicki, Joe Redig, Fred Beell


Section 14:  Cole School, Wesley Vanderhoof *(sec14 &15), F.O. Durke, Wm. Winterstein, A.J. Abbott*(sec.14 & 23)


Section 15:  A.G. Luther, V. Skoine, Robert Haslow, Ed Kayhart *(sect 15, 14,& 22)


Section 16:  Ed. Kayhart, Edwin Haslow, Fred Raabe, A. Etta, F.W. Bredlean, Chas. Giloy*(sec.16 & 21), E.H. Schmidt, Wm. Giloy


Section 17:  Otto Weyhemiller, Chas. Youmans, Pearl Catlin, C.A. Richards, W. Erwin, Julius Hinkleman.


Section 18:  E.S. Hazeltine, J. AbbrahlJno Lempke, T.D. Geisler, R. Stevens, Aug. Witt, A.J. Sayles


Section 19:  A. Leatherdale, Ervin Ratzburg, Phil Kissinger Jr., Art Cammers, Mrs. Jno Wehling, Phillip Kissinger, J. Vernalen, Otto Rhode


Section 20:  Otto Lempke, H.O.  Barnett, Julius Schroeder, Albert Schroeder, J. Kissinger


Section 21:  T. Bord, Anna Fulle Wadleigh, Aug. Rahm, J.A. Griffith*(sec.21 & 28), Wm. Wenzel


Section 22:  Harold Wilkes, F.A. Allar, Robt. Schultz, Henry Facklam, Robert Schultz, Chas. Rahm*(sec.22 & 27), Albert Tews


Section 23:  Jno. Dietsche, Alb. Tews, W.F. Reinheimer, Ed. Kayhart*(sec.23 & 14), Selma Dietz, Joe Klavac, Chas. Dickerson


Section 24:  Ben Vanderhoof, Chas. Rue, Henry Fisher, Chas. Vanderhoof, Joacob Rizzi, Wm. Stahl, J. & E. Snoeyenbos, Joe Stochek Otto Krebs, Holmes Sch. (Holmes is a school?)


Section 25:  Chas. Rue, John Stochek, Jay Vanderhoof, Geo. Schaller, E. Liebe, Fred Miller


Section 26:  Mrs. B. Vanderhoof, Alb. Vanderhoof*(sec.26 &25), Albert Dietz, Herb Koepke, Ernest Krasselt, Martin Below, Geo.Gunz, Wm. Reinhaimer


Section 27:  W.J. Gourlie* (sec.27 & 34), H. Stargardt, B.F. Ripplinger, M. Vanderhoof,  Henry Gunz, Ben Bukacek, Mrs. A. Breadlau, Wm Wickman*(sec. 27 & 26), Veefkind Sch may be in sec. 26


Section 28:  Ben Dietsche *(sec.28 & 27), Wm Redig , Mrs. Griffith, John O. Mueller, Griffith Sch., Adolph Kurz, Wm F. Grewenow


Section 29:  L.A. Griffith, Mrs. Wm Redig, Harley Renne, S. Sauerherring, Frank Kleist, Mrs. E. Renne, John Steiner,  J.Bohaacker


Section 30:  Ed Young, Spokeville Sch., C.Lucht, A.C. Witt* (Sec. 30 & 29), Emma Gilbert


Section 31:  Wm Able, P. Gross, Julius Krueger, Mary M. Leatherdale


Section 32:  Carl Gerdes, L. Stevens, Emil Miller, C. Stevens, Pliny Bros.


Section 33:  Frank Conrad, Geo. Muelller, L.H. Schultz, Carl Conrad, W.J. Lyle, Knute Moen


Section 34:  W.J. Lyle, Jno.G. Fisher, A. Gifford, Mrs. M. Schultz, Emil Miller, Phillip Horn, Elmer C. Horn


Section 35:  Marg. Meyer, Otto Wood Key, Henry Kibble, Aug. Woodkey, Clarence Bluenke, Mrs.Mary Frank, Ed Stevens*(sec. 35 & 34)


Section 36:  G.V. Weyhmuller, Herman Krahn C. Germerschausen, Max Woodkey, Julius Miller






© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel