Historical Markers - Rock Co., WI

The Medal of Honor

Wisconsin Official Marker

Located at the rest area Tourist Information Center on westbound I-90, south side of Beloit on the stateline

Courtesy of Kurt Wheeler, Rock County Planning & Development Agency
    The Medal of Honor
    The Medal of Honor is the highest decoration for bravery awarded to
    members of the armed forces of the United States. It is bestowed by the President, in the name of Congress, only for a deed of supreme valor and self-sacrifice distinguished by "gallantry and intrepidity at risk of life above and beyond the call of duty." More often than not, the Medal of Honor is awarded posthumously.
    President Abraham Lincoln approved the creation of the Medal of Honor in
    1862, and during the Civil War some 1,527 Union soldiers and sailors earned it. In all, 3,394 Medals have been awarded. Wisconsin citizens received 62, including the special Medal of Honor awarded by Conress to Milwaukee-born advocate of air power Genearl William C. "Billy" Mitchell.
    Wisconsin citizens have received the Medal of Honor in the following
    conflicts: Civil War, 21; Frontier Wars, 7; Spanish American War, 1; Philippine Insurrection, 1; Boxer Rebellion, 1; Mexican Campaign, 2; World War I, 2; World War II, 15; Korea, 5; Vietnam 6.
    Erected in 1990


©2006 ALHN-Rock Co., Wisconsin

Site Coordinator: Lori Niemuth