This is a NEGenWeb Project On-Line Library presentation.


| Richardson | Rock | Saline | Sarpy | Saunders | Scotts Bluff |
Part 10
Alphabetical Town Index


        Richardson county was temporarily organized by a proclamation of Acting Governor Thomas B. Cuming, dated November 23, 1854, and was organized and its boundaries defined by an act approved March 7, 1855, with the seat of justice located at Archer. Its boundaries were redefined by an act approved January 26, 1856. Richardson county is one of the eight original counties. It was named for William A. Richardson of Illinois, who later became the third territorial Governor of Nebraska, 1858.
        Richardson, Monterey county, California, was so named by settlers from Richardson county, Nebraska, in honor of their old home.


        Rock county was so named on account of its rocky soil. This county was formed from Brown county by vote November 6, 1888.


        Saline county was surveyed in 1855 and organized in 1868. The name Saline means salt and it was given to the county because of the supposition that somewhere within its boundaries were to be found numerous extensive salt springs or salt deposits. This supposition, however, has proved to be unfounded. Its boundaries were defined by an act of the legislature approved March 6, 1855; reestablished and redefined by an act approved January 26, 1856.


        Sarpy county was named in honor of Colonel Peter A. Sarpy (1804-1865), a conspicuous figure in early Nebraska history. It was once a part of Douglas county but was separated and organized into a new county by an act approved February 7, 1857.


        Saunders county was named for Alvin Saunders, governor of Nebraska territory, 1861-1867. The county was originally named Calhoun but the name was changed by an act of the legislature approved January 8, 1862. The original county was established and
the boundaries defined by an act approved January 26, 1856; and redefined November 3, 1858.


        This county receives its name from a prominent, local bluff known as Scott's Bluff, a noted landmark by the side of the Platte valley. It is situated about three miles southwest and across the North Platte river from the city of Scottsbluff. It is 4662 feet above the sea level and about 800 feet above the North Platte river at its base. It is named for Hiram Scott, an early traveller, who perished at its foot. Scotts Bluff county was formed from Cheyenne county by vote November 6, 1888.


© 2001 for the NEGenWeb Project by Connie Snyder