the spring the words, "Lewis and Clarke" and a date. This was probably cut there by members of the Lewis and Clarke expedition during the summer of 1804, when ascending the Missouri river, and probably marked the date when they camped at or near this spot. These stones have crumbled until now no traces of the cutting is visible.
Mr. Lange was married to Mary Hoosky, in 1859. He has held the office of school director, postmaster, and has served as county commissioner five terms.
F. E. SANDIG was born at Geringswalde, Saxony, February 4th, 1827. At the age of twenty he was drafted for military service. Seven days of his five and one-half years' service were in the revolutionary war of 1847.
Immediately after he was discharged he came to America, reaching New York City in September, 1853. He next visited a cousin in Detroit, and went from there to Chicago, --then a "little Decatur". He reached Burt county in time to experience the hardships of the winter of 1856, which was spent with F. E. Lange, who had arrived the preceeding year. It was at Eastertide in 1857 that Mr. Sandig and his companion, Andrew Gillick, were surrounded by the Missouri river while cutting wood in the timber. For seven days they were imprisoned in a shanty on an island. The water covered the floor and their only food was the flesh of an ox dead for three months. Rafters were used for fire wood and water allowed to settle for drinking and cooking purposes. Half leading, half carrying his companion Mr. Sandig finally succeeded in reaching Lange's.
November 9th, 1862, Miss Mary Snyder became Mr. Sandig's wife and for a long time the Lange family was the only family between them and Tekamah. Mrs. Sandig died March 3d, 1896.
Mr. Sandig is spending his old age in comfortable retirement, surrounded by the substantial improvements